Astraweb Problems

Technical Support for Astraweb. Moderated by a real live Astraweb representative.

Moderator: stevef

Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 5:40 am

Hi i have huge problems with downloading from Newsbin pro, using astraweb. I get my files from NZBs.in, and every time i get error messages ;-( code 10060 and a lot of other failure codes.

[10:09:02] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Connection to News server failed My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06166.1@reader.usenetbucket.com> |
[10:09:03] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Server Reports that parts of the file are missing My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06166.1@reader.usenetbucket.com> | 430 no such article
[10:09:04] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Server Reports that parts of the file are missing My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06363.108@reader.usenetbucket.com> | 430 no such article
[10:09:10] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Server Reports that parts of the file are missing My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06387.122@reader.usenetbucket.com> | 430 no such article
[10:09:11] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Server Reports that parts of the file are missing My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06381.119@reader.usenetbucket.com> | 430 no such article
[10:09:13] ERROR RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n [02/69] - "RV5ybcasyMAButQH2yY7n.part01.rar" yEnc Connection to News server failed My_Server ARTICLE <1463814526.06269.57@reader.usenetbucket.com> |

My firewall is diable and i havent done anything new. I just bought a new Linksys WRT 1900acs, i tried disconnect that, and got internet throug my Iphone using internetsharing. But that didnt help. Please help me Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 8:13 am

Its NOT my router i connected directly to my modem. Tried another computer, same problem. So it has to be Astraweb who is blocking my downloads. Is there an alternative to Astraweb ??.
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby itimpi » Sat May 21, 2016 8:26 am

If you are getting 430 type errors then that indicates the post in question is no longer on the server. If it is a recent post then it is probably as a result of a DCMA takedown. If it is an old post it could just have expired off the servers (or never made it to Astraweb).

I have a block account with newsDemon that I have set as a fill server in Newsbin to use in conjunction with Astraweb, and this seems to work well.
The Newsbin Online documentation
The Usenettools for tutorials, useful information and links
User avatar
itimpi
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 12532
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 7:11 am
Location: UK

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/28/03

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 8:38 am

Im NOT an expert. I ude Nzbs.in for my files Newsbin Pro to download and Astraweb as my news server. What is a block account.
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 8:54 am

If you could mail me to solve my problems World be great my e-mail is Links not allowed for unregistered users. Sorry my english im from Denmark Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Quade » Sat May 21, 2016 9:14 am

430 errors are always server errors. Meaning the server is saying "I don't have part of the file".

Many people use a backup server fill fill in the blanks. Eweka or Blocknews for example.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 10:00 am

Im looking for another server indtraf of Astraweb which server do you prefer ?.
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sat May 21, 2016 12:41 pm

Problem Solved Eweka was the solution Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby kidknicky » Sat May 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Looks like Astra is not the right NG host to subscribe to...

-----
"Incomplete Articles

We have been aware for months that articles originating from XSNews/Easyusenet and its related resellers are incomplete. Articles posted via these servers are not propagated out to the rest of usenet complete. However, these articles are complete on their servers.

This is not in the spirit of usenet, whereby there is open and complete exchange of articles. As such, we urge users who see these incomplete articles to ask posters not to post via XSNews/Easyusenet. As posters who do so will not see their articles propagated completely throughout the rest of usenet.

Users experiencing this issue are urged to complain to XSNews/Easyusenet and to complain to the originating poster."
-----

So, rather than switch providers, we all should complain on Astra' behalf...OMG! LOL !!!

JD
Last edited by kidknicky on Sun May 22, 2016 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
kidknicky
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:30 pm

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby kidknicky » Sun May 22, 2016 4:59 pm

So I went into trouble shooting mode. Rather than just get the release index and
create my own nzb, I loaded up Newsbin for Astraweb and downloaded headers so
that I can view the posting to see how complete it is or is not. At least this way I
can hang onto my block credits instead of wasting them on a non-recoverable post.
One particular posting showed no incompletes, having already tried that posting as
mentioned previously. So I tried downloading that one straight from Newsbin. There
were incompletes, same ones actually, so what is going on? This process will not be
an option either. Incomplete files will generally stall at 98%.

In Altbinz, I loaded every Astraweb server I had info on, 6 or 7. This also did not improve
my completion rate.

There is obviously something going on here and the customer is paying for it. Ultimately,
it's buyer beware and good luck finding something solid. When I first joined, my completion
rate was not an issue (3 months or so ago).
Things really went bad after my next block account purchase and I have already wasted a
good portion of that because of this issue. The only choice for me now is who to try next...

JD
Image
User avatar
kidknicky
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:30 pm

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Quade » Sun May 22, 2016 5:47 pm

It probably depends on what you download. I'm not having any issues myself with AW. It's not perfect for sure but it works for me and I can repair everything.


You might want to get the 6.71 beta a try and flip on "Aggressive assembly" mode in the options. Aggressive Assembly permits it to run through retries once and then it'll assembles what it has on hand and attempts repair.

6.70 and prior try to be smart about it but there are boundary conditions where it might not make the right decision.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Brucew » Sun May 22, 2016 6:29 pm

Everything i download using AW is a waste missing files code 460. Im on Eweka now it is more expensive, but im sufing the trying to find a cheaper one, that is stabile. Im tired of repairing everything. If anyone know or could suggest a good news server World make my Day Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Brucew
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 5:27 am

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby zork » Mon May 23, 2016 9:09 am

Is Astraweb really only NNTP provider which suffers from permanent missing article problem? I am really thinking switching provider when I reach my plan limit. I don't use very actively newsgroups but when I do then almost every time now there is missing articles and file must be always repaired. Its getting quite annoying.
zork
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:14 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/25/14

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Quade » Mon May 23, 2016 11:02 am

One thing I've noticed is that the AW EU server has posts that the US server doesn't so it might be worth adding the EU server and splitting the connections between them. For me it was the difference between being able to repair the file and not.


Edit: I contacted someone at AW about this, reported it. He tells me they found a problem and it's in the process of being fixed.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby zork » Mon May 23, 2016 11:16 am

I have both servers and files are usually repaired but its still annoying and download takes quite more time than usually(I have waited couple of times more than a day for download to finish). And as missing articles are critical errors then notification pop-up window pops up always. Sometimes in background but quite often as topmost window. I know I can turn it off but I would like to know if there is some serious problems with downloading and with AW there almost always is.
zork
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:14 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/25/14

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby Quade » Mon May 23, 2016 12:39 pm

I know I can turn it off but I would like to know if there is some serious problems with downloading and with AW there almost always is.


The same errors go to the logging tab. The popup window is mainly for the noobs who don't know about the logging tab.


6.71 has a more aggressive assembly mode you can turn on. You might want to give it a try. Look in the autopar options.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby kazdeenbrett » Tue May 24, 2016 1:20 pm

I was having similar issues. I checked my server settings. I was using news.astraweb.com. I added two more servers: us.news.astraweb.com and eu.news.astraweb.com and it has vastly improved. I still need to repair more than normal but at least I can download now.
kazdeenbrett
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/09/14

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby zork » Wed May 25, 2016 6:42 am

Quade wrote:
The same errors go to the logging tab. The popup window is mainly for the noobs who don't know about the logging tab.

6.71 has a more aggressive assembly mode you can turn on. You might want to give it a try. Look in the autopar options.


From my point of view logging tab is for information. If there is really critical error which needs attention, then its better if something pops up and draws your attention. And I have aggressive assembly mode turned on. But I had enough today. One small file was on queue from yesterday and it was one small file from many and pars were done for entire batch which I didn't want to download. And another file was missing some of its main body and all par files were incomplete so that even aggressive mode didn't help. So I went and took Newsdemon 10GB Non-Expiring block plan and got files downloaded at once. I guess I spend my remaining quota on Astranews and then go over to Newsdemon. Astranews has problems over half a year now and there is no indication that there is improvement with this missing articles problem.
zork
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:14 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/25/14

Re: Astraweb Problems

Postby senssuck2 » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:09 pm

Hello,

So it sounds like the best solution is to choose another provider? Does anyone have any alternative provider suggestions?

Thanks
senssuck2
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 1:58 pm


Return to Astraweb

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest