Can't register Newsbin Pro...

While it isn't officially supported, we have many users who successfully run NewsBin under Linux with a Windows emulator (Wine is the most popular). This forum exists for you Linux guys to share your experience getting NewsBin running on Linux as well as report any strangeness that we may or may not be able to fix. DThor is the resident expert.

Moderators: Quade, dexter, newsraider, DThor

Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Warmijwilf » Fri May 04, 2012 9:31 am

Okay, I'm running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, and I have installed the latest Newsbin in WINE. I've got a legit key. Trying to register it, it says "Can't Contact Server". It registers fine when I try on my Windows laptop, but I'd much prefer Newsbin Pro on my Linux desktop.

I have a feeling port 443 is being blocked via WINE, but I can't figure out how to disable it. I've reinstalled various distros and Wine in the hopes it was just something i'd selected beforehand, but it seems to be the case in every distro.

Can anyone help? Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Warmijwilf
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:51 am

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby DThor » Fri May 04, 2012 10:02 am

It wouldn't be wine blocking the port, it's your firewall. I must admit, every distribution I've tried, it "just works", but I guess different people set things up differently. It might be new releases of ubuntu being aggressive, don't know.

Regardless, that's where to focus your efforts. You can verify this is the problem by disabling the firewall altogether and see if it works. If it does, then you need to allow access to that port. I've been noticing a trend where it's program focused, rather than ports, check the docs to see if that's the way ubuntu is moving. It's really wine that's the application being run, as far as the firewall is concerned.

If disabling doesn't work, then I would look outside the computer, perhaps the router?

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Warmijwilf » Fri May 04, 2012 10:06 am

I've tried disabling the firewall (sudo ufw disable) still doesn't work.
With Windows it works fine, so I doubt it'd be a router issue.
Warmijwilf
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:51 am

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby DThor » Fri May 04, 2012 10:51 am

Offhand, I don't know then, sorry. There's only so many things it can be, something is interfering with wine talking to the outside world. To me, that's the firewall. I don't use "uncomplicated fire wall", but it does seem like that's how you disable it, yeah. I'm not a big fan of simplified approaches to system services mostly because it obfuscates things from you to keep it simple. To me, on Linux, there's an init service running the firewall. I disable it, either by command line or through a services gui. I don't know how this sfw works, exactly, if it's the actual firewall or simply a front end to a standard firewall.

Can you actually use newsbin as a trial? I that works, that shows at least one port working.

DT

[EDIT] a little further research shows that there are issues with that release of Ubuntu(it's pretty bleeding edge) and SSL. Now, Quade pointed out correctly that Newsbin comes with it's own SSL library, so in theory that shouldn't be affected, but FWIW. I still think, though, the firewall is involved somehow.

http://discussion.evernote.com/topic/25 ... with-wine/
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/965371
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Warmijwilf » Sat May 05, 2012 10:03 am

Yes, it works fine as a trial.
Warmijwilf
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:51 am

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby DThor » Sat May 05, 2012 10:21 am

So it's probably SSL, then, since registration uses that. Dexter has been in touch with a user using the same distro with the same problem, I don't know if it's you, but if not, it does appear to be busted and it's distro related. They do know about it and are working on a patch, it's pretty widespread in it's area of effect, so hopefully won't be too long a wait.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Warmijwilf » Sat May 05, 2012 11:39 am

Well, I've installed Debian Squeeze now and compiled Wine 1.5.3 on it, and it's working fine. So yeah, seems to be Ubuntu 12.04, and a few other distros (I tried OpenSUSE too and that didn't work either).
Warmijwilf
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:51 am

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby DThor » Sat May 05, 2012 11:52 am

Hmm, well I'm the 'OpenSuse' dude, I've never had trouble, ever. There are always wine issues, but they tend to be cosmetic. I'm running the latest Suse. Again, every time someone on linux has trouble connecting with Newsbin under wine, it has almost always ended up as a firewall config issue. This Ubuntu scenario is the exception to the rule.

If you have tangible information on the Suse problems, I'd appreciate it.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Warmijwilf » Sat May 05, 2012 12:34 pm

Can't really say, I just had problems with registering. Identical to the Ubuntu issue. Though, that was on this same machine and I don't wish to reinstall opensuse on it, so I wouldn't be able to provide logs or anything.
Warmijwilf
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:51 am

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby jubbes » Wed May 09, 2012 6:26 pm

Hello!
With Kubuntu 12.04, I installed the program 'firestarter', its in the repo.
Then you can disable the (k)ubuntu firewall and its possible to register NewsBin.

I hope that 'll help you too.

jubbes
jubbes
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 5:02 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/12/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby nitzer » Thu May 17, 2012 11:09 am

Seems there is a kernel bug with the LTS 12.04 release of Ubuntu. I was able to register and download via SSL by performing the following:

echo 0|sudo tee /proc/sys/kernel/yama/ptrace_scope

This solution was found at:
http://www.codeweavers.com/support/wiki ... ubuntu1204

:P
nitzer
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 3:42 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/10/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby DThor » Thu May 17, 2012 11:31 am

Good info, thanks. Surprised they haven't patched this yet.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Can't register Newsbin Pro...

Postby Quade » Thu May 17, 2012 11:44 am

That's really weird because Newsbin has SSL built in. Seems like the kernel would have to actually block the TCP connection to fail this.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42400
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron