Installing to a new location

While it isn't officially supported, we have many users who successfully run NewsBin under Linux with a Windows emulator (Wine is the most popular). This forum exists for you Linux guys to share your experience getting NewsBin running on Linux as well as report any strangeness that we may or may not be able to fix. DThor is the resident expert.

Moderators: Quade, dexter, newsraider, DThor

Installing to a new location

Postby Bill_M » Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:15 pm

I'm trying to upgrade to 6.52 and getting a "Cannot Install Newsbin, Is Newsbin Running?" message. But I think I know what is causing it. The installer is trying to write the new files to the wrong location. Let me explain. I recently upgraded to a new version of Linux. Newsbin is installed on a drive that gets mounted after bootup. This new version mounts drives in a different location. Newsbin used to be in \media\terabyte\newsbin now it is in \media\bill\terabyte\newsbin. Even after the change newsbin started and ran just fine when I double clicked the .nbi file. The installer, however, appears to be trying to write the files to z:\media\terabyte\newsbin. (z: is how WINE assigns drives) So I'm guessing that the old location is some data file. If I'm right, can you tell me what I need to change for the installer to work? And if there are any other places to check if the path is correct? Thanks.

Bill
Bill_M
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:36 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/05/02

Re: Installing to a new location

Postby dexter » Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:59 pm

The installer looks in the windows registry for the location of the installation folder. If you moved it after running the installer, it won't know where to look to perform an upgrade. You can manually change it by going under HKCU\Software\DJI Interprises\Newsbin50\Settings and modify the InstallDir registry key.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9297
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Installing to a new location

Postby Bill_M » Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:16 pm

Thanks, that did the trick. And here I thought I would never need to use the registry editor when I switched to Linux :wink:
Bill_M
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:36 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/05/02


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests