Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)...

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)...

Postby br0adband » Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 am

Is it possible to alter the options listed on the right-click context menu that appears when Newsbin is minimized to the Tray? I know a double-click restores the app (as I have it set to automagically minimize to the Tray) but sometimes an errant double-click - it happens from time to time - doesn't actually restore the app but instead opens another app tied to another Tray icon. It looks like this by default:

Image

and I'm hoping I can get it to this:

Image

The right-click context menu has Save as the top option, and I don't *need* to Save the configuration that often, if ever - what I'd really love to see is Restore put there at the top of that menu if possible. I did a Registry search to see if it's listed in there and it's not, so I'm guessing it's either hard-coded into Newsbin itself or something in one of the config files, potentially.

As stated, just curious if this would be doable since having Restore at the top seems more logical to me - obviously if the app is minimized to a Tray icon, my primary reason for going back to the icon is to bring the app back to full size and restored, hence Restore being the "priority" on the list.

If possible, fantastic, if not, I'll live... ;)
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby richy99 » Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:45 am

i would say it is hard coded, never use that feature myself but it would make sense not to have restore and exit above/under each other due to accidental clicks
User avatar
richy99
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:04 pm
Location: Wales

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/31/03

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby DThor » Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:46 am

Yeah, makes sense.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby lisle » Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:05 pm

I reported this apparent bug months ago. It is a continual irritant for me because of my taskbar placement along the right-hand side.

At the time I verified the problem exists in Win7, in Vista, and in XP. I have seen this occur with other programs that (fortunately) had the option of a single-click restore. The nicest - and probably easiest - solution would be to bypass the bug by using a single-click restore in NB.

Cheers,
Lisle
lisle
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 6:41 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/09/09

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby br0adband » Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:43 pm

Hadn't even thought about a single click restore (on the icon), that would be even better in some respects. I have a lot of apps that work that way and do it precisely as expected; uTorrent is probably the most common one I use. One click - there it is, done.

Sure would be nice... <hint, hint> :D
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby Quade » Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:02 pm

Ok. I'll look into it.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43542
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby br0adband » Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:26 am

Thanks, I know I'm not the only one that would prefer to have that one-click-restore capability from the Tray icon.

Never not been satisfied with my Newsbin Pro purchase years ago, and I'll probably "buy it again" soon just so I have a proper version registered in my name directly - my current registration was made years past using my Wife's bank account... ;)
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby Quade » Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:48 am

I made it single-click yesterday.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43542
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby br0adband » Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:50 am

That's awesome news... I'm guessing/hoping we'll see that in beta 2, perhaps? Any chance of the reordering of the context menu with Restore on top just in case...?

Thanks!
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby Quade » Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:14 am

You don't really even need restore anymore do you?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43542
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby br0adband » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:40 am

Yah, I suppose the one-click-restore is more than enough... I had guessed the option was hardcoded (the context menu layout) so I suppose it actually it. As stated, I'll live. ;)
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby Quade » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:08 pm

Didn't say I wasn't going to move it. Was wondering if I should remove it though....

Fine...I moved it.


Haha.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43542
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Just curious about something (context menu adjustment)..

Postby br0adband » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:43 pm

/me giggles himself into a stomach cramp, oddly...

OK, I GIVE U--- oh, you moved it. COOL! And thank you... ;)
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.
br0adband
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/03/05


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests

cron