Right click retry on file isn't working

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby hdtv00 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:50 am

Ok say your internet goes out for whatever reason. During that time clearly the file it's on is going to go red and have issue. Before I used to just right click and select retry and it would pick up the tiny missing bits. Now it's doing nothing so I'm going to end up with a file that's broken and needs repair. Just letting you know as this would be a big time saver rather than forcing unneeded par repair. And since the files are still LOCKED together I can't really do much with that one file thats gone hay wire.
hdtv00
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:11 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/08/05

Re: Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby DThor » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:09 am

Hmm, I've definitely had 'retry' work just fine. I'm wondering if it was related more to the rather catastrophic loss of inet, which might have left things in an odd state? If you haven't already, next time try a reboot and see if Newsbin picks up as it should. Did you restart Newsbin?

Also, 'nothing happened ' ain't gonna cut it. ;) There's almost certainly some sort of clue in the logging tab. That will tell you why nothing happened.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby hdtv00 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:27 pm

Sorry I should've posted this in the beta 6 thread.

However nothing happens while app was open and I click retry or resume. If I close the app it tries and redownload the entire file again. Each and every time I close it it just starts the file all over again. I don't know I just remember it actually resuming on the file not retrying the entire file again if I close the app. I know for sure it didnt just start entire files over again 100M files and something wrong and having to restart them all again from start is for sure something I'd notice.
hdtv00
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:11 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/08/05

Re: Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby Quade » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:18 pm

So, you restart and it downloads the whole thing. Does it give a good file then or does it still not get all the chunks?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43542
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby hdtv00 » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:39 pm

They're 152M files I don't want them to restart them all from scratch. It used to just pick up where it left off. Not trash the entire file. IMagine 44 gigs with 15-20 partials and restarting forces redownload of every file instead of picking up the missing bits. Yea it'll download the whole file , its only failing because of internet issues. And I only bring it up because it used to resume with no problem , now it doesn't. Again in the new beta. I assume it won't because like all the other issues it's because the set it locked together as a whole rather than it being like before and each file separate. People have net issue, no escaping that before it made sense that it would pick up where it left off not trashing 99% of the file instead.
hdtv00
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:11 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/08/05

Re: Right click retry on file isn't working

Postby DThor » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:51 pm

Nobody's questioning the usefulness, it's about trying to debug what's going on. Out of that, I'm getting that the file is whole, and it does download properly, right? Things get extracted to memory now, up to a certain size( MemCacheLimit, which defaults to 20M), so any of those might not get written out to disk. Certainly, large posts should be dumped out to disk as they go and NB should pick up on them next session. Your initial post mentioned 'tiny missing bits'. Are we talking about a smallish post, and you're projecting the experience to a large one, or have you seen this with a large post?

You can edit this value in the nbi, check the relnotes. Being a beta, it's still not locked down yet as to how this will behave by default in the final.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests

cron