How to make windows open as tabs by default? (solved)

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

How to make windows open as tabs by default? (solved)

Postby Porkrinds » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:26 pm

I find that when I open an nzb or such, it fills the whole newsbin screen. I have to drag the title bar and dock it onto the Groups window. The default in the old UI was to open each nzb/group/etc in it's own tab. How do I get this again?

Also, I don't quite get what the thumbtack does. In most other programs it makes the window sticky or 'pinned' so it can't be moved. The thumbtack here appears to autohide the windows? That doesn't make sense.

Beta 9

Thanks,
Mr.Rinds ;)
Last edited by Porkrinds on Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Porkrinds
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 01/17/09

Re: How to make windows open as tabs by default?

Postby Quade » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:55 pm

You have to put the search tab back wherever you want the post/nzb lists to appear. They anchor to the search tab.

Easiest way to do this is exit, delete "Workspace.xml" then re-customize the display.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43617
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: How to make windows open as tabs by default?

Postby Porkrinds » Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:26 pm

DOH, I did read other threads but didn't think this applied to my situation. Thanks for answering again anyway. :oops: :mrgreen:
Porkrinds
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 01/17/09

Re: How to make windows open as tabs by default? (solved)

Postby insolution » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:34 am

I, too, am having problems with the docking behavior.

Q. How do I get the v5 tabs behavior in v6 (6.10.913)? When I open a group I want the tab to appear as it did in v5, at the top of the screen and one tab for each group.

Right now the tabs are at the bottom and when I open another group it replaces the existing group I have open with the new one.

It would be worthwhile (to me) to have an XML file that mimics somewhat the behavior of v5 to make transition to v6 easier for existing users. IMHO the new interface is confusing and busy. I prefer the v5 interface by a wide margin (sorry, I know it took a lot of work).

Scott
insolution
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 11:06 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/01/02

Re: How to make windows open as tabs by default? (solved)

Postby Quade » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:12 pm

You have to put the search tab back wherever you want the post/nzb lists to appear. They anchor to the search tab.

Easiest way to do this is exit, delete "Workspace.xml" then re-customize the display.


There's an option called "Single Tab Mode" that you might need top uncheck.

By default, it works like 5. Just click the X on all the tabs you don't want. Just leave the search tab alone though.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43617
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: How to make windows open as tabs by default? (solved)

Postby insolution » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:35 pm

Thanks Quade, that fixed it.

FYI for others reading this post, it's titled Multi-Tab Mode and it's under Menu->Options->Switches

Without a doubt, you guys offer the BEST support of any software company I've ever dealt with and I've been an admin for 24 years.

Thanks, your efforts are appreciated.

Scott
insolution
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 11:06 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/01/02


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron