'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby Ge2rt » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:48 am

The 'Right click - Mark all old' -feature does not work.

I use this feature in combination with an always enabled filter to mark all posts old without having to
- disable the filter and
- select all posts
- and use the Mark Posts Old-feature (DEL).

Suggestions for another way of handling this 'marking old' habit of me are welcome :)
A shortcut for 'Mark all old' is also welcome.

Version 6.0b10 build 913
Windows Vista 64bit
Ge2rt
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:32 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/10/07

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby DThor » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:02 am

Well, there's currently some oddities going on with marking posts old, this is another thing that's not currently working, it seems. Good catch. I don't think anything needs changing, just getting this in order should work well I think. There already is a customizable shortcut for MAO, and I'm sure it works perfectly...if the actual operation was hooked up. :)

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby ToyMaker » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:54 pm

Ya crap, I got it to now. I got lots of post that won't go away until display age of 3 days passes, then I don'r see them. I marked them old over and over...
Last edited by ToyMaker on Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ToyMaker
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 06/13/09

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby DThor » Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:29 am

That might be another issue, I've been seeing something similar, Quade and I have been gabbing about it on IRC. He's been having trouble reproducing. It appears to be tied up with the download marker file. I renamed that, started newsbin and it went away. Beware, this will lose all records of what's been downloaded. Anyway, hopefully get it hammered out soon.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby DThor » Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:12 pm

Just an update on this, if you subscribed to a group that didn't have frequent posts, what was happening is the last things posted would get snagged and re-snagged each session as part of an overlap feature. In an internal build, Quade has disabled this by default and it's dealt with this problem. You'll still be able to re-enable the overlap feature per server, it just defaults to off now.

This will likely make it in the next release...

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby ToyMaker » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:12 am

Seems to have fixed my issue to.
User avatar
ToyMaker
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:51 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 06/13/09

Re: 'Right click - Mark all old' does not work

Postby Ge2rt » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:58 pm

Seems fixed, except that the behaviour after MAO is different from V5:
posts are marked old, but are not removed from the open group-tab.
Ge2rt
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:32 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/10/07


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron