[NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

[NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby thirtybird » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:29 pm

I connect to my machine that's running Newsbin via Remote Desktop regularly, and find that posts that are not multi-part have a black square (with maybe one grey pixel?) next to them where the expand arrow would be on a post with multi-parts. Also, the colored sphere icons all look like they are within a black square. It's not a major bug, but it was disconcerting until I figured out that the black boxes were supposed to be transparent.

I find this to be the case when selecting either 24 bit or 32-bit graphics depth in the RDP client and can provide a screenshot if it would be helpful.

This was present in beta5, I updated to beta9 and find it to still be present.
thirtybird
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/02/05

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby Quade » Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:22 pm

Win7 32 (Laptop) to Win7 64. I RD in and fire up Newsbin. It looks essentially the same as on my desktop so, at this point I'm assuming there's something specific to your setup. What aren't you telling me?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43663
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby thirtybird » Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:47 pm

Only thing I could think of having "left out" is that the machine running NB is a virtual machine. Win 7 64 physical desktop connecting to Win 7 64 virtual desktop which is configured with Windows Classic Theme (looks just like XP)

I put b9 on my physical desktop, and the icons in the toolbar are totally different from the icons on the machine I typically run NB from.

I will PM you a URL with the screenshot in question.
thirtybird
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/02/05

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby Quade » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:18 pm

which is configured with Windows Classic Theme (looks just like XP)


Change it to the standard win7 theme and see what happens.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43663
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby thirtybird » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:22 am

Changing to the Windows 7 Theme corrected the look, and even putting it back to my saved theme it stayed correct. The one other thing I was confused about was just a discrepancy between using large icons and not using large icons...

thanks for the right answer on the first try :)
thirtybird
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/02/05

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby thirtybird » Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:00 pm

This little girl is back on a completely different machine (running on a VM kinda sucked) and still occurs using RC3.
Physical machine, running Win 7 x32 running the windows 7 aero theme, however, to access this machine, I two-hop RDP to it (access my home network via RDP to one machine, then RDP from that machine to the machine running Newsbin).
resetting the themes on both machines in the chain resulted in no change - still a black spacer and black border. Reset the GUI when I updated to RC3 (was seeing problem on B14 then upgraded to RC3)
reboot of the machine didnt help either.
any other thoughts?
thirtybird
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/02/05

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby Quade » Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:07 pm

If it's working properly sitting at the machine and only messes up over your RD sessions, then the problem seems external to Newsbin. Maybe you need to turn up the RD sessions to use full color or something? I don't think I've ever tried testing in low color modes.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43663
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby thirtybird » Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:14 pm

That's exactly what it was. I use a 16 bit display option as I was going across the WAN to help with performance. If I up it to 32 bit the black boxes go away. I'm guessing they're 99% transparent png files or something that space it out? 16 bit RDP = no alpha channel...
thirtybird
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/02/05

Re: [NB6B9] Black "spacer" icons & black border on others

Postby Quade » Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:49 pm

Likely it is the lack of alpha channel.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43663
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests