V6 GUI thoughts

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

V6 GUI thoughts

Postby Arkman » Fri May 13, 2011 3:25 pm

V6 GUI has a wasted line above the tabs. Only info in that line is restate of tab name on the left and pin and autohide on the right.

Is it possible to go back to B12 from 13 without breaking anything? It's got some issues most already stated.
When searching the post list the cursor moves out of the search box after search results come up. Have to move mouse back up to search box to change or add to searching.
colums position not remembered.
Still showing old downloaded posts after reloading groups.
Arkman
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby kirm » Fri May 13, 2011 7:17 pm

No problem going back to beta 12. You may have to set columns once more, but then they stay were they are suppose to.
kirm
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/15/03

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby Arkman » Sat May 14, 2011 10:40 am

Thanks, I should point out that B13 fixed the slow sort by status issue I was having with b12. But really the only reason I sort by status is to bring incompletes in view.
More GUI thoughts. I can detatch the menu bar and float it way up top to give me yet another line of workable space. But can the menu bar be placed into a dropbox by using the newsbin icon in the upper left corner?
The 'wasted' space above the tabs bugs me because I keep all my tabs in the same window pane. Just another line I could use for displaying posts. Not that I'm OCD or anthing Image link not allowed for unregistered users
Arkman
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby Arkman » Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:20 pm

V6 RC2 has solved all my complaints but one.
When searching group list the cursor still dissapears out of the search box after results. Have to move mouse back to search box after every search.
This behavior began with beta 13.
With 12 and prior I could continue to add to the search string after a search but after beta 13 into RC2 have to move mouse
Ford (show all posts with ford)
Ford.*escort (show all ford escorts)
Ford.*escort.*red (show all red ford escorts)

Anyway RC2 is a thumbs up.
Arkman
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby Quade » Fri Jun 10, 2011 9:35 pm

Nice.

Think that's still on my todo list.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43657
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby howi42 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:22 am

The RC2 version fixed some of the GUI problems, but there are still some left :

Most annoying : Windows state, position and column setups are not completely preserved when you restart the application.

- Wolfgang
howi42
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 2:13 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby Quade » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:41 am

Most annoying : Windows state, position and column setups are not completely preserved when you restart the application.


Examples?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43657
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: V6 GUI thoughts

Postby DThor » Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:15 pm

Works fine here. Any chance you're not letting it shutdown properly or resetting the GUI accidentally during install(the option is still there), because otherwise it sounds like something is interfering with Newsbin...

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests