Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:31 pm

well i'm still using B14 as i can't download B15, i always have an error like invalid file or can't read the file ...

anyway, i often dowload pictures and most of the time i have :

1- files in the failed list when they are just downloaded (and i don't try to redownload maybe due to point 3?)

2- failed files without reason because never downloaded before

3- and sometimes i see the files beeing reassigned at the bottom of the download list AND appearing in the failed list at same times.
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby DThor » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:43 pm

Nothing much will be done with B14, the fact you can't download B15 is disturbing, you've got something up your end interfering with downloads. I'd solve that first.

Maybe that's related to your sig issues. I haven't noticed anything like you describe.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby dexter » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:57 pm

ws wrote:well i'm still using B14 as i can't download B15, i always have an error like invalid file or can't read the file ...


We've had a handful of reports of this but I am unable to recreate it and the vast majority of people can download with no problems.

Is there anything different about your system or the browser you are using? Do you have javascript turned off or have security cranked way up or something? I'd like to figure out why you and a few others are having this issue.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9468
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:28 pm

i'm using Firefox latest version on windows XP, i used several downloading tools (downloadthemall, ..., including bilt-in one)
i even tried with internet explorer v8 with same results . except if you're using something special, normally i don't have any security things which can interfere (normal downloading for other things) and javascript is on
(and i succeed with B14 so...)
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:31 pm

and for the dupes, how can you explain point 3 ie download move to bottom of the list and appears in failed list at same time?
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby Quade » Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:08 pm

It's no mystery how it can happen. If they failed to download and you re-add from the post list, they'll be in both places. Other than that, it's kind of pointless to trouble-shoot an old beta.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43660
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Fri Jun 03, 2011 5:55 pm

except i don't readd, that's automatic things , that's why i mentionned that, and for "old", i'lll tell you when i can download B15 or newer
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:05 pm

RC1 Installed (i still have the problem for downlad but i succeed with my synology station and the good adress) so i'll tell you for the dupes
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby DThor » Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:46 am

It doesn't sound like you actually solved why the installer was being corrupted, at least you're not being clear about it. If you still have a lot of corruption in downloads, I'm betting it's related.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:12 pm

No that' not related,
beacause i just saw with RC1 this :

8 file was both reassigned (automatically) at the bottom of download list AND 6 appeareared in Downloaded files list (simultaneously)....
the two others were detected as dupe (after been automatically reassigned) and not downloaded, but i never dowloaded them
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03

Re: Bug in Dupe detection?? B14

Postby ws » Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:38 pm

I still have the dupes problems with RC2 (as files AUTOMATICALLY both in failed list and downloaded list )


(btw about the rc2 download, i had no problem donwloading the language pack)
User avatar
ws
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/11/03


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron