MOTD not displaying

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

MOTD not displaying

Postby ChiChan » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:54 am

Hi,
Having just returned to Newsbin after a long (months) absence I seem to have hit a problem with MOTD.

It was displaying on my old version of Newsbin today (can't remember which version but > 9 months old).

I upgraded to 6.81 (5080) a few hours ago and I'm sure it displayed MOTD the first couple of times I launched it.

Now it will not display MOTD even though I have checked the settings and it should be displaying.

Maybe this is a co-incidence and admin have removed the recent MOTD i.e. there is no MOTD to be displayed at this time?

As I say, it's been awhile so forgive me if this is a dumb question but a) should a MOTD be displayed when launching Newsbin and, if so, what else can I do to try and resolve this?

Many thanks
ChiChan
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 8:16 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/01/04

Re: MOTD not displaying

Postby itimpi » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:32 pm

The MOTD is normally only displayed on startup if it has changed since Newsbin was last started. The is a menu option to look at the MOTD archive if you want to see it at other times.
The Newsbin Online documentation
The Usenettools for tutorials, useful information and links
User avatar
itimpi
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 12578
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 7:11 am
Location: UK

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/28/03

Re: MOTD not displaying

Postby ChiChan » Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:33 pm

Thank you for the quick and informative reply. That explains why I saw it and then I didn't!
ChiChan
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 8:16 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/01/04


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron