Critical error on header download

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Thu May 07, 2020 4:58 pm

What does this mean? I can’t download headers. Can’t I attach a screen shot?

Error BR: Read failure - would block
Error downloaded socketexception news server error my server nntpserver zero bytes read from socket

Newest newsbin version.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby Quade » Thu May 07, 2020 5:19 pm

It means the connection failed. It's a non-fatal error. Newsbin should re-connect and keep going. It could be a server problem too. Some servers disconnect the connection when X amount of data is transferred over it.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43776
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Thu May 07, 2020 9:08 pm

Ok whew. Well. At least I understand now. But that doesn’t help me fix the issue since I’m thinking windows has a problem. Weird cus is worked before.

I just bought a MacBook Pro 16” for $2799. Put Parellel desktop and windows 10. Ever since the install it’s had some kind of internet issue but no clue how. I’ve installed it before with no issues. So I guess I need to figure this out and it does actually help by showing there’s an issue not with newsbin.

I will have to uninstall everything and redo it. Sigh.
Thank you very much Quade.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Thu May 07, 2020 10:06 pm

I’ve reinstalled and it keeps doing it. Edge seems to browse fine. So I don’t get it.

Tried giganews in same binary group. Downloaded about 20mb/sec 500k headers ok. Then I cleared list for getting headers because I’m going to install the giganews accelerator. I emailed newshosting that I can’t get headers from the group in newshosting but it worked fine in giganews. A shame since gifs has about half the retention. Sigh.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Thu May 07, 2020 10:27 pm

Ok. I get the same error on giganews too.
I’m reinstalling to factory default my Mac then windows and will try again.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby Quade » Fri May 08, 2020 4:20 pm

Does it just do it with one group? Are you trying to download a whole groups worth of headers?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43776
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Fri May 08, 2020 4:41 pm

Hi.
I have only tried one group with download latest 10m headers.
But,,, it seems better now after my reinstall of everything. Now I’ve done download special 10m older posts 3 times and it’s ok so far. I want to get all headers but concerned it won’t work or run out of space. :)

Ok. Same problem. Download all headers. Same a.b.e group.
Worked for download older 10m the 5 times I did it or so. Then tried download all headers and same issue after a bit. Don’t know how long or how many headers downloaded.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03

Re: Critical error on header download

Postby buggs1a » Sat May 09, 2020 1:02 am

Ok so I can’t get newsbin to sort. I click on size and nothing happens. So largest file at top to bottom. Same for date. Won’t sort. Nothing happens at all. I click it. Nothing. Try and try again. Nothing. Hmm.

Edit.
Headers downloaded better. Hmm. Not being able to sort is better now. I stopped downloading the headers and sort would have worked if I had more ram I think. Newsbin stopped responding while trying to sort by size. Not enough ram I think. So I guess everything is normal.

Wish I had a real windows machine but I don’t like any that are below like $2k or so. And I prefer Mac OS.
buggs1a
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 12:55 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/13/03


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests