I'm Ready to D/L a new Copy of NBP64 for New Computer

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

I'm Ready to D/L a new Copy of NBP64 for New Computer

Postby eclapwannabe » Thu Feb 11, 2021 12:33 am

I have read the section on "Copying Newsbin to another Computer"
I am confused because I don't see 1 folder listed as "Data". When I go to Option/Settings/Open Data Folder I see a lot of db3 files. I made a copy of them I was going to Copy SPOOL_V6 Over But I don't have a Century of time to invest. There is 64+GB in that folder.

I also don't see "C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application\Data\newsbin" on drive C:\


ec
eclapwannabe
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:10 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/20/12

Re: I'm Ready to D/L a new Copy of NBP64 for New Computer

Postby Quade » Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:16 am

When you used "Open Data Folder" it opened to the data folder.

If you go up one folder you can pick the whole folder to copy. If you don't copy spool_v6, you'll lose all of your already downloaded headers.

The location of the data folder is arbitrary. You can move it. Mine's on my Y: drive. "Y:\Newsbin\". That's why the best way to find it is "Open Data Folder". Windows hides some folders by default too.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44031
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests