Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby slee » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:33 pm

The PC I use for Newsbin currently has 6GB of ram. Not much, but it's worked fine for now. There have been a lot of changes in the groups, and I'm finding I have to pull down more headers from multiple groups. Newsbin seems to never finish (the progress bar never goes away). I can see that most of the available memory is used. My question is, if I bring the total to 24GB of ram, will this fit the bill for most needs?
slee
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:50 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/01

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby kirm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:00 am

The PC I use for Newsbin currently has 6GB of ram. Not much, but it's worked fine for now. There have been a lot of changes in the groups, and I'm finding I have to pull down more headers from multiple groups. Newsbin seems to never finish (the progress bar never goes away). I can see that most of the available memory is used. My question is, if I bring the total to 24GB of ram, will this fit the bill for most needs?]


Could you please explain how you are running 6G of ram and want to go to 24G. Been using computers since 286 days with dos and well, did I miss something.

Running with 16G ram i7-2600 and not seeing any issues with dl speed and progress bars using latest beta under win10.
kirm
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/15/03

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby Quade » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:00 am

It depends on how many days of headers you load up at once. For example, I only load 30 days worth at a time so my memory usage remains well under 2 gigs. If you're loading 3000 days of large groups, you need a bunch of RAM.

How much are you loading?

Could you please explain how you are running 6G of ram and want to go to 24G. Been using computers since 286 days with dos and well, did I miss something.


It's not clear what you're asking. I have 64 gigs in this machine and have some servers with 70+ gigs. If I had to guess, I'd guess he has 3 2GB sticks and will change over to 3 8GB sticks,
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42302
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby slee » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:54 am

kirm wrote:Could you please explain how you are running 6G of ram and want to go to 24G. Been using computers since 286 days with dos and well, did I miss something.


As I said, this is a system I mainly use for Newsbin. It's an old i7 system with 3 channel DDR3. The reason for the question is, I didn't want to spend the money on the memory if it really didn't help. It sounds like it will help (which I assumed before I asked). I will just have to try. I too remember the days when 'no one would ever need more than 640KB of ram'.
slee
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:50 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/01

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby kirm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:14 pm

It's not clear what you're asking. I have 64 gigs in this machine and have some servers with 70+ gigs. If I had to guess, I'd guess he has 3 2GB sticks and will change over to 3 8GB sticks,


Reason I was asking cuz back in the old days, you always had to use ram chips, usually paired off, in multiples of say 4, 8, 16, 32, and MB's generally had 2 or 4 mem slots. Always eager to learn so I just found 6G being an unusual combination. Never thought one could use just 3 ram sticks, had to be 2 or 4. Times are a changing I guess.
kirm
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/15/03

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby slee » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:30 pm

kirm wrote:Reason I was asking cuz back in the old days, you always had to use ram chips, usually paired off, in multiples of say 4, 8, 16, 32, and MB's generally had 2 or 4 mem slots. Always eager to learn so I just found 6G being an unusual combination. Never thought one could use just 3 ram sticks, had to be 2 or 4. Times are a changing I guess.


Ah. This system uses 3 channel DDR3. So, the MB has six slots. It currently has 6 1GB sticks. Most systems seem to be dual channel. For being an older system, it still holds up very well. Perfect for Newsbin.
slee
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:50 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/01

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby Quade » Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:15 am

Reason I was asking cuz back in the old days, you always had to use ram chips, usually paired off, in multiples of say 4, 8, 16, 32, and MB's generally had 2 or 4 mem slots. Always eager to learn so I just found 6G being an unusual combination. Never thought one could use just 3 ram sticks, had to be 2 or 4. Times are a changing I guess.


Yeah, I had to think twice about it too.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42302
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Using 6.80B7 B4965, how much memory is needed?

Postby kirm » Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:51 pm

Ah. This system uses 3 channel DDR3. So, the MB has six slots. It currently has 6 1GB sticks. Most systems seem to be dual channel. For being an older system, it still holds up very well. Perfect for Newsbin.


Curiosity got the better of me, Slee would you mind posting the name and model of your motherboard, would like to read the tech info on that baby.
kirm
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/15/03


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron