Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby dexter » Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:57 pm

A few more bug fixes are in B3:

Summary:

  • Made change to Sonarr integration when reporting status, now only reports one line per NZB representing the largest files.
  • Added DNS caching as emergency backup for normal name resolution. If resolve fails, the cache is consulted.
  • Fixed issue using Ctrl-R on posts with obscured subjects.
  • Modified filename mode to strip any formatting chars off the begin and end of the cleaned subject.
  • Made changes to AutoPAR to make sure PAR files are assigned to files if they are added to the download list later.
  • Made change to make sure "Storage Age" doesn't apply to NZB files. Should only apply to header storage.

The download link is on the Newsbin Beta Page. If you find any issues, please reply to this thread or use our Technical Support Contact Form.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9280
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Eurisko » Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:06 pm

I do notice the memory usage of Newsbin creeps up and doesn't seem to let go. My Newsbin has been busy this week, but it was sitting idle this morning and I noticed it had creeped up to 1.6 gigs of memory usage. Why doesn't it return back down? I've noticed this several times in the last week. Restarting it drops it's usage back to 40megs or so. Just curious.
Eurisko
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:19 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/02/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Quade » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:17 pm

32 bit or 64? How do you normally download?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42500
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Eurisko » Sun Nov 20, 2016 1:32 pm

64 bit, Windows 10.

Typically I leave Sonarr to do the work. I have also done a lot of manual downloading from results in the search. This week has been abnormal for my regular Usecase which is mostly Sonarr.

When I posted my last message, I had literally just restarted it. It's idle now, and I just looked and it's up to 815 megs used.

Since the restart, it looks like only one item was downloaded via Sonarr.

EDIT: Restarted it, usage went back to 40~ megs. Downloaded one 10 Gig file. It did a par repair, then decompressed it. Cache was at 756/1000 (it's done this for a few versions where it doesn't release the cache and I have to do the Help About or Restart it to clear it out.). Memory was at 680 megs and never returned to normal.
Eurisko
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:19 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/02/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Quade » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:02 pm

Cache was at 756/1000


This is where a gig of your memory usage is going. By setting the cache to 1000 you're telling Newsbin it's OK to keep 1 gig of ram around to use. I only use a cache of 200 these days. A large cache doesn't buy as much as it used to because you can set it to download and unrar at the same time.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42500
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Eurisko » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:13 am

That makes sense about why it uses that much. I just didn't understand why it doesn't release that memory when it's done. (Or clear the cache back to 1000/1000).
Eurisko
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:19 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/02/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby Quade » Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:03 pm

When you tell it it can use 1G it says "fine". It makes no effort to give that RAM back to the OS.

As for the records that don't get purged out. Eventually those blocks of memory would get purged out or re-used. There's no reason to purge the data unless it's necessary and it's only necessary when it runs short.

You're trying to apply some functionality that just isn't there. Not going back to 1000/1000 isn't a bug it's kinda...nothing. Because the RAM isn't freed in normal operation anyway.

You can force it to flush with help/about but, that just means Newsbin will re-allocate the RAM next time you download.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42500
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby cage » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:00 pm

Does "Read Post Body" ie CTRL-R work for anyone? All it does is place a text file in the 'Read Posts' directory and never displays it. This has been broken for me for a very long time now and still doesn't works in 6.73 Beta 3.
cage
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:04 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/09/07

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby dexter » Wed Nov 30, 2016 10:13 pm

Works for me. Wonder if your windows association for .txt files got messed up? Newsbin will launch whatever app is associated with .txt files. If there is no association, it won't do anything.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9280
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:33 am

I have been using the latest RC for a while with no issues. A couple of days ago when loading a large group, NB bogged and eventually crashed. Watching the memory usage, it is basically going up until NB has used all 8gb of ram. Not sure why this is suddenly a problem. Suggestions?
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:39 am

The other issue with this that I forgot to mention is that group loading is extremely slow. In the past this has not been the case.
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby dexter » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:18 am

This is due to Usenet getting spammed. Upgrade to the latest beta, 6.73 Release Candidate 2, then follow these instructions: http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V673-FilterDownloads
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9280
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:25 am

dexter wrote:This is due to Usenet getting spammed. Upgrade to the latest beta, 6.73 Release Candidate 2, then follow these instructions: http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V673-FilterDownloads


Thanks! That had crossed my mind. Will try that out.

Mark
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:01 pm

dexter wrote:This is due to Usenet getting spammed. Upgrade to the latest beta, 6.73 Release Candidate 2, then follow these instructions: http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V673-FilterDownloads


I generated the filter using the instructions you provided. I added the filter in the group properties dialogue. However, the name of the filter is not showing up in the filter profile column next to the group. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Mark
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby dexter » Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:11 pm

It's not supposed to show up there. As long as it is listed in the Properties page for the group under Header Filter then it is installed properly. The other location you are referring to applies the filter when displaying headers from the database. What we are suggesting is you apply this header filter that keeps the spam from getting into your header database on your hard drive in the first place.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9280
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:58 am

dexter wrote:It's not supposed to show up there. As long as it is listed in the Properties page for the group under Header Filter then it is installed properly. The other location you are referring to applies the filter when displaying headers from the database. What we are suggesting is you apply this header filter that keeps the spam from getting into your header database on your hard drive in the first place.


Got it. Thank you.
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Version 6.73 Beta 3 Available...

Postby redive » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:31 am

dexter wrote:It's not supposed to show up there. As long as it is listed in the Properties page for the group under Header Filter then it is installed properly. The other location you are referring to applies the filter when displaying headers from the database. What we are suggesting is you apply this header filter that keeps the spam from getting into your header database on your hard drive in the first place.

That works great! Thanks for the solid support.

Mark
redive
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests