Remote Control Error

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Remote Control Error

Postby dougm1 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:22 am

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away I got newsbin and sickrage talking. Then, something happen somewhere and the connection between the two failed. It's not a firewall issue, and reinstalling both applications didn't remedy the situation. Trying http://localhost:8000 returns
Code: Select all
{
"status":"false"
}

Whatever that means...

Trying http://localhost:118/ returns
Code: Select all
414 Newsbin Server 6.73RC1 - Remote control disabled - Newsbin isn't registered 


Even though Remote Control is enabled. I think that is my issue. The questions are
    1) Why is Remote Control showing as disabled?
    2) How do I (re)"register" Newsbin?
User avatar
dougm1
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/03/09

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby Quade » Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:54 am

414 Newsbin Server 6.73RC1 - Remote control disabled - Newsbin isn't registered


Help/Register Update Key menu. Re-submit or add and submit the key.

See what happens.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41967
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby dougm1 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 6:10 pm

Did it. Looks like newsbn is registered now... (Browser output of Remote Control port 118 shown below). Sickrage connection still fails though. SR SABnzb Test Connection returns "Unable to connect to host".

http://localhost:118/

Code: Select all
200 Newsbin Server 6.73RC1
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized


http://localhost:8000/ still returns
Code: Select all
{
"status":"false"
}
json error?

I've seen this error before when trying to access Sickrage after the noble SR devs put out a commit that chowdered my SR set up. I'll dink with SR and let you know if I get it to work. Maybe authentication via https will do it, else - its back to blackhole.
User avatar
dougm1
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/03/09

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby Quade » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:23 am

I think you're mixing up remote control with remote NZB. SickRage and the like need to use the Remote NZB settings, not remote control.

They both need to be on different ports.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41967
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby dougm1 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:38 am

SR url is http://localhost:8081/
SR SABnzbd server url is set to http://localhost:8000/

NB Remote Control Port is set to 118
NB Remote NZB Integration is set to Port 8000.
NB Remote Post Processing Remote Address is set to http://localhost:8081/

I think those are the instructions that you gave.
Fails with or without uname and pw or API key in any combination.
I actually just tried to manually change the SR port both in the settings page and directly the config.ini - SR won't change ports! It stays 8081 no matter what I change it to.
I'll keep working on it. Any ideas what might be going on?
User avatar
dougm1
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/03/09

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby Quade » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:03 am

200 Newsbin Server 6.73RC1
400 Command not Recognized
400 Command not Recognized


Is normal if you're connecting with a browser. Port 118 isn't an HTML interface so what the browser is sending is just garbage to this interface.

{
"status":"false"
}


Is normal if you're not sending the correct Json command to this interface. Which apparently you aren't.

You shouldn't be connecting to Newsbin with a web browser.

[Browser]<----->[SickRage/SB/Sonarr]<------>[Newsbin port 8000ish]

So, you need to configure Rage to connect to Newsbin and you need to use the browser to connect to Rage.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41967
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby dougm1 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:06 am

Thanks. I knew that. I was using the browser to troubleshoot. I think it is an issue with SR porting. I opened an issue with SR.
User avatar
dougm1
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/03/09

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby Quade » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:27 am

Yeah you need to make sure there are no port conflicts.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41967
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Remote Control Error

Postby dougm1 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:36 pm

Ran netstat -ano -p tcp. No port conflicts. Something is f'ed up somewhere. I'll find it. The SickRage Windows installer includes NSSM so that SickRage runs as a service on port 8081 - porting can't be changed from SR or direct modification of the SR confg.ini. One of the SR developers, sharkykh, helped me out: had to open the NSSM service editor to change the SR port. Integration still doesn't function, but at least I have something to work on in my spare time. Thanks for your help.
User avatar
dougm1
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:08 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 07/03/09


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest