Scheduler overriding Pause

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Scheduler overriding Pause

Postby mjpierce » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:17 am

I'm running 6.80B11 32bit on Win 7 32 bit.

With the Scheduler active, Pause gets un-Paused after only a few seconds.
With the Scheduler inactive, Pause works fine.
My Pause timeout is set to 60 minutes.
The Scheduler time block is set to full speed.
mjpierce
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:29 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/06

Re: Scheduler overriding Pause

Postby Quade » Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:27 am

Yes. I mean isn't that what the scheduler it supposed to do?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43078
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Scheduler overriding Pause

Postby mjpierce » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:09 pm

I don't think the scheduler should unpause Newsbin after only a few seconds when I have manually paused it using the pause button on the toolbar. That's what the "pause timeout" option is for.
The scheduler is for bandwidth management for certain times of the day. Paused, limited speed, full speed.
If Newsbin is not paused, and the user hits the pause button on the toolbar, I think Newsbin should stay paused until the "pause timeout" is reached regardless of the scheduler.
Otherwise, if the user wants to pause Newsbin, they would have to go into Options, disable the scheduler, pause Newsbin, unpause Newsbin, go back into Options, and re-enable the scheduler.
mjpierce
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:29 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/06

Re: Scheduler overriding Pause

Postby mjpierce » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:11 pm

Maybe I wasn't clear in my original post that I was trying to pause using the button on the toolbar and not via the scheduler.
mjpierce
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:29 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/06

Re: Scheduler overriding Pause

Postby Quade » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:01 pm

You basically have 2 things competing with each other. You have the scheduler trying to manage the pause, speed and download state and then you press the pause button. What's the scheduler supposed to do? Disable itself after you press the pause button?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43078
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests