Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby dexter » Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:07 pm

Summary of changes:
  • Fixed issue where free space dialogs will stack up if Newsbin is left unattended and you run out of space.
  • Fixed issue where Newsbin was downloading more PAR files than necessary.
  • Added an NBI setting to disable recursive unrar. In the [AutoRAR] section, create a variable RecursiveUnRAR and set to 0 to disable. It is on by default.
  • Header downloads no longer save the headers as GZ files. Instead they're saved as text. Leaving it up to the user to enable folder compression if they want compression. Newsbin still reads GZ and .txt files from the Import folder but only generates .txt on header downloads now. Makes header processing faster by skipping the compress/uncompress steps.
The full change history and the download link is on the Newsbin Beta Page.

If you find any issues, please reply to this thread or use our Technical Support Contact Form.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9331
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby mkrubsack » Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:42 pm

Can you shed some light on what "Header downloads no longer save the headers as GZ files. Instead they're saved as text. Leaving it up to the user to enable folder compression if they want compression. Newsbin still reads GZ and .txt files from the Import folder but only generates .txt on header downloads now. Makes header processing faster by skipping the compress/uncompress steps. " Means?

I liked the way things worked in RC3 and earlier. No problems for me. Why the change now?
mkrubsack
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:39 pm
Location: California

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/25/12

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby dexter » Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:59 pm

For me, processing headers is 3x faster now. Also Antivirus software might be groaning trying to process binary data and it's all ascii now.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9331
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:59 pm

Import seems a bit faster and the CPU load is lower. For people with limited disk space, Windows provides a solution. The files are eventually discarded anyway.

AV software won't dick with the files too which wasn't true of the GZ files.

I'm curious why you're attached to the GZ files?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby mkrubsack » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:28 am

Quade wrote:Import seems a bit faster and the CPU load is lower. For people with limited disk space, Windows provides a solution. The files are eventually discarded anyway.

AV software won't dick with the files too which wasn't true of the GZ files.

I'm curious why you're attached to the GZ files?


I'm not attached to them at all. I just haven't experienced any issues, and wondered why the change.
mkrubsack
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:39 pm
Location: California

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/25/12

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby kirm » Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:00 pm

Will be glad to see the end of the GZ files. In the past there were a number of times they would stick on me in certain builds, even though I must admit I have not had any re-occurrence of this problem lately.

I should also mention for the last few builds, I have not gotten the issue with the nfo files showing up empty at first on just reading them. Not sure where the issue was from, if it was newsbin or newshosting.
kirm
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/15/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:19 pm

Likely Newsbin.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby johnisme » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:07 am

The only thing you gotta do is if you have you need to register your key on a fresh install you have to install a previous build prior to candidate 3.
User avatar
johnisme
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:00 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/22/07

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 still crashing...

Postby shsmith » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:34 pm

I have automatic download of alt.binaries.wallpaper and alt.binaries.wallpaper.duplicates and have seen crashing every day or two.
Usually newsbin just dies, but this time I was prompted to "debug" so I did.

Code: Select all
Unhandled exception at 0x00007FF8C48A87CB (ntdll.dll) in newsbinpro64.exe: 0xC0000374: A heap has been corrupted (parameters: 0x00007FF8C490C6E0). occurred

>   ntdll.dll!RtlReportCriticalFailure()   Unknown   Non-user code. Symbols loaded.
    ntdll.dll!RtlpHeapHandleError()   Unknown   Non-user code. Symbols loaded.
    ntdll.dll!RtlpLogHeapFailure()   Unknown   Non-user code. Symbols loaded.
    ntdll.dll!RtlSizeHeap()   Unknown   Non-user code. Symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402bbbc9()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c64fd()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c9118()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c41a0()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c43dd()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401c45be()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401ab797()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401d78f9()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401d781e()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001407c3c78()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001406efbd0()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001406ef3dc()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    [External Code]      Annotated Frame
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401d90b8()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401895e5()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!000000014017a695()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!0000000140706349()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    [External Code]      Annotated Frame

If I try to continue from this crash, it later crashes again with this stack trace:
Code: Select all
>   newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402a47ad()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402a8dae()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402af6e8()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402b324d()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402b333e()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c9975()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c41a0()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001402c43dd()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401c45be()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401ab797()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!00000001401e2417()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!0000000140254259()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!000000014022f0bb()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!000000014017a695()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    newsbinpro64.exe!0000000140706349()   Unknown   No symbols loaded.
    [External Code]      Annotated Frame

Here is the logging output at the time:
Code: Select all
[01/29 07:18:45]  ERROR Thread Died: altbinaries
[01/29 07:26:53]  ERROR FileAssemblerThread - internal crash

Hopefully this will give you some clues as the the root cause of the crashing.
shsmith
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:33 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/22/11

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:40 pm

The only thing you gotta do is if you have you need to register your key on a fresh install you have to install a previous build prior to candidate 3.


I just fixed that, thanks. I fat fingered something...
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:43 pm

Hopefully this will give you some clues as the the root cause of the crashing.


As an experiment, if you have XFeatures enabled in the server options, try disabling it and see if it still crashes.

If you don't then it's not connected.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby shsmith » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:15 pm

Quade wrote:
Hopefully this will give you some clues as the the root cause of the crashing.

As an experiment, if you have XFeatures enabled in the server options, try disabling it and see if it still crashes.
If you don't then it's not connected.

No, I do not have that (or anything else under Really Advanced) enabled.
shsmith
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:33 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/22/11

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:14 pm

ok thanks.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby shsmith » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:40 pm

Today I found newsbin had died so I re-launched it. In just a few seconds it crashed. I found this in LogFile.txt:

Code: Select all
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Motd check
[01/30 18:33:19]  HIGH  Aggressive Assembly mode: Enabled
[01/30 18:33:19]  HIGH  PAR Pausing:  Enabled
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Repair Init
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Repair Failed to Open
[01/30 18:33:19]  HIGH  Par2Repair - Multi-core 3.2
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG PAR - Init
[01/30 18:33:19]  HIGH  MessageId Filter: Disabled
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Filter Init
[01/30 18:33:19]  HIGH  FileTypeId Version: 3.00
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Server Auth
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Workers Init
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Start Connection Workers Init
[01/30 18:33:19]  DEBUG Remote Interface: Bound Remote control Socket
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connecting: xsusenet Index:3
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connecting: altbinaries Index:1
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connecting: xsusenet Index:3
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connecting: altbinaries Index:1
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connection Status: SSL.USENETSTORM.COM SSL Version: TLSv1.2 TLS-RSA-WITH-AES-128-CBC-SHA
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connection Status: SSL.USENETSTORM.COM SSL Version: TLSv1.2 TLS-RSA-WITH-AES-128-CBC-SHA
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connected: altbinaries Index:1
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connected: altbinaries Index:1
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connected: xsusenet Index:3
[01/30 18:33:22]  DEBUG Connected: xsusenet Index:3
[01/30 18:33:23]  DEBUG Chunk Filter: First Chunk Plugin File Already Exists on Disk and seems to be the same as downloading fileDesktops #1958-59(newest)  045of198] - "ComputerDesktopWallpapersCollection1958__041.jpg" yEnc  411904 bytes
[01/30 18:33:23]  DEBUG FileAssemblerThread - ComputerDesktopWallpapersCollection1958__041.jpg Attempting to open file to scan for data
[01/30 18:33:24]  ERROR Thread Died: altbinaries

After the second crash I started newsbin and it seems ok now. Weird.
shsmith
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:33 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/22/11

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:50 pm

Someone else mentioned crashing when hitting the wallpapers groups. I haven't tried it yet but I will. Thanks.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:54 am

PAUSING FOR LOW DISK SPACE IS STILL BROKEN! You may have fixed the problem with the notification continuously popping up over and over for several minutes after clearing up disk space, which I reported a year ago, but you still haven't fixed the problem with Newsbin trying to restart over and over. Now with RC4 it will restart and continue to download as if the drive had unlimited space!

There was only 30-40GB of space when I left yesterday morning and, as you can see from the attached screenshot, Newsbin stopped downloading by 8AM. I wasn't feeling well and didn't use the computer when I came home, but then right after 6PM started downloading as if the drive had been cleared. It downloaded 500GB of data and saved it as 0 byte chunks. This is ridiculous! Your solution is to not run out of space? Well that's not acceptable. The USB drives on the laptop I use frequently disconnect if just looked at wrong. Maybe some of the cables have intermittent breaks or maybe the hub I have has the defective USB 3.0 controller that disconnects when it goes to sleep to save power. It doesn't matter. Newsbin shouldn't keep downloading when there is no hard drive space to save anything on!

Also, your suggestion of raising the setting for stopping Newsbin from downloading to 2GB doesn't work. I even raised it to 10GB (MinFreeSpace=10000) and it still doesn't pause until it's under 1GB and then apparently starts back up overnight. Why did it wait 12 hours to restart when it didn't download all day? Could there be something related to it resuming around 0:00 UTC, some kind of refresh that's initiated?

So now it's back to the 8 year old Newbin V5 and manually extracting the downloads so I can keep the internal timestamps, but it's the only version that will stay paused when it runs out of disk space. At least I don't have to pay for all the wasted data since Comcast doesn't have a cap in my area, but they do monitor total usage and I'm already using 100GB a day just for my OTT IPTV and movie services.

Image
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:42 pm

I was talking to Dex about this. It looks like pausing download isn't enough anymore. I'll need to also pause unrar. I suspect you have a fast connection and the download gets way ahead of the unrar so, pausing the download simply doesn't stop IO enough. At 100 Mbps, when the popup pops up, IO stops and it just sits there till I free space.

To me this is like running out of gas in your car. The gauge is there so you can tell how much you have queued and how much space you have to download to. It's on you at that point to make sure you have enough gas to get where you're going.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:48 am

I'm not understanding the explanation. I'm using a single partition to store both the data and downloads. I've tested Newsbin's response time creating a dummy file with fsutil and Newbin will pause before I'm able to close the command window. To me this shows there's no "coasting" time when it runs out of space like you'd have with a car running out of gas.

This morning I tested it again and Newsbin continues to process chunks, databases and send commands to the news servers. Why? Also, V5 never had this problem, even on my "fast" 250 Mbps connection. That's not even fast by today's standards. In other areas Comcast offers 2 Gbps business and 1 Gbps home internet speeds. Unfortunately there's no Fios here, so Comcast doesn't offer anything above 250 Mbps since the only competition is 3 Mbps DSL. My old Arris 8x3 channel modem can't even download above 240 Mbps because Comcast only provides 30 Mbps/Channel.

I don't know anything about how Newsbin is coded and what the difference is between how V5 handled low disk space and V6 attempts to, but it just doesn't work.

I've attached screenshots showing that even though the Newsbin's Low Disk Space notification is visible, Newsbin continues to run in the background. I know a screenshot doesn't prove it's running, but the log was actively scrolling with errors as Newsbin continued to check for posts.

Image

Image
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:48 am

The picture tells me you're out of disk space. You can either increase the amount of available disk space or keep running into this problem.

At 250 Mbps you're downloading faster than your PC can unrar files so, the downloaded files start to stack up awaiting processing. You could probably reduce the stack-up by telling Newsbin to pause the download during unrar (in the performance options).
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:41 pm

The picture tells me you're out of disk space. You can either increase the amount of available disk space or keep running into this problem.


The question was never IF I'm running out of disk space, it was WHY am I running out of disk space.

I increased this setting 50x what you recommended and it still only pauses at 1 GB and frequently the extracted files are larger than 1 GB. That alone will cause Newsbin to run out of disk space.
[FILE]
MinFreeSpace=100000

I've turned on the pause while repairing or extracting setting, but that won't work because of the above problem. The only solution is to disable automatic UnRARing like I had to do in V5, because no matter how much free space I have, I will eventually run out of space with 8 TB currently queued up to download. And yes It's all loaded in Newsbin at once so I can prioritize it instead of trying to figure out what which of the thousands of NZB's I've saved have been downloaded or that I still want to download.
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:55 pm

Finally found the reason for Newbin not obeying the MinFreeSpace setting in the NBI. Quade had posted the to put it in the FILE section, but it goes in the FILENAME section. Newsbin now pauses correctly.

https://forums.newsbin.com/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=42303#p220429

http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V600-Advanced#Free_Space_Limits

Sorting and direction of arrows of sorted columns are still wrong, but at least it's usable now.
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 4 Available...

Postby Quade » Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:17 pm

I fixed that post. Thanks.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42791
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests