Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby dexter » Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:35 pm

Might be sounding like a broken record at this point but, we hope this will become the final release! :)

Changes in this version:
  • Pause now pauses unrar/repair processing too. Helps with low disk situations.
  • Fixed issue when downloading the last file in the set and hitting an error, it didn't fail the set. It just vanished.
  • Fixed issue where PAR only sets weren't clearing from the download list.
  • Changed logic to better handle when a single media file is posted with multiple par2 files.
  • Fixed issue when you expand multiple sets then collapse them out of order. The state was geting screwed up.
  • Fixed descriptions for the path variables displayed when you change a download path.
  • Fixed issue where the 411 no group errors weren't listing the group.
  • Improved handling of out of disk space situation. Now requires 2 times the free space before attempting unrar.
  • Now pauses unrars if space gets low. Also requires 10% of the threshold space freed up before it the warning dialog disappears.
  • Added the header import folder to periodic data folder cleanup routine. Import folder purging is smarter now. It won't touch a GZ or text file but will purge any extra files.
  • Fixed issue when deleting a header download, was taking a very long time to recover.
  • Changed method of renaming pars when needed.
  • Fixed issue where empty groups weren't getting removed from the download list.
  • Fixed issue where Clear Search history wasn't clearing poster history. Also fixed to clear imagedb search history.
  • Fixed issue with header backlog counter. Now counts GZ and TXT files only.
The full change history and the download link is on the Newsbin Beta Page.

If you find any issues, please reply to this thread or use our Technical Support Contact Form.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9412
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:41 pm

To clarify the change to unraring and free disk space.

If Newsbin attempts to unrar and the destination disk doesn't have 2 times the RAR size free space, it'll pause the unrar and log the error to the logging tab. It'll keep logging every 5 seconds till you clear enough space for it to unrar. Download will continue unless you've disabled "download during unrar".

The normal data and download path free space checking is in place but the unrar free space checking is in addition to that since you can have the unrar path on a different drive than either the data or download folder.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:11 am

Same problem as with RC 5, 6 and 7: the download of files listed in "Downloading Files" doesn't start.
I have to move all of them to "Wish List" and then back again to "Downloading Files", or close and restart Newsbin.
Reinstalled RC 4: all back to normal.
:(
Last edited by triskel on Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:30 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:38 am

How many servers are you using? There's got to be something about your setup that I'm not factoring in.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:26 am

I use 6 servers: 3 Easynews, 2 Giganews, 1 Altopia
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:58 am

How about cutting it down to 1 or 2 servers and see if it still does it. I wonder if one of your servers is dead.

Maybe disable all but altopia and see what happens.

Do any of them have "typical retention" set?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:16 am

Tried: using only Altopia the download starts.
No typical retention set.
(All servers are active: there is a certain amount of downloads for each of them, and no problem with RC 4 and previous versions)
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:49 am

How about adding a server at a time till it stops working?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:57 am

I've just tried: now the servers are all there and the download starts!
I really don't know what to say...
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:00 pm

Closed and restarted Newsbin; added files to download: stuck again!
It seems that sometimes it works and sometimes it does not.
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:04 pm

I think it sounds like you have a dead server or a server that starts sending errors. A dead server could easily give you these symptoms. That's why I suggested starting with Altopia, increasing the servers one at a time and then see if you can get figure out if it stops working after you add a specific server.

I'm not clear why the change from RC4 would make a difference so, I'm trying to gather some data points.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:19 am

Same servers (or combination of them), different results: sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't (or starts to work and then stops).
One more time back to RC4 : it works everytime.
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:34 pm

I did an experiment yesterday. I duplicated my UNS server entry and made them 2 connections each. So I have 6 UNS servers and one other server. It downloaded perfectly.

Are these servers all the same priority?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby triskel » Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:21 pm

Same priority, two connections each.
User avatar
triskel
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Europe

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/30/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Calahan » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:44 am

Updated Version 6.80RC7 to RC8 and $(RAWSUBJECT) at least didn't create the folder when unpacking.

"Main Download folder":
J:\!G\$(GROUP)\$(RAWSUBJECT)\
"UnRAR folder":
Setup is: L:\!D\$(RAWSUBJECT)\

Downloaded and/or unpacked files went to L:\!D.
As I deleted the Recycle Bin I can't say if the folder was created in the download path or not.
I went back to RC7, but I will test RC8 again to get further info about the Download Folder.

Edit: Just downloaded a set again and the download went to "J:\!G\$(GROUP)". The "$(RAWSUBJECT)" folder was not created either.
Have to go back to RC7...

Could you (pretty please) remove unwanted characters as "-" and blanks (maybe "_", ".", "," and so on too?) from the right side of the folder name?
Such characters makes no sense at the end of a folder name, I think.
At the moment, in many groups where I use $(RAWSUBJECT), the folder names end with " - ", which is unnessessary. I have to rename them all manually.

Don't know what it means but I got this error message in the log:
[04/23 12:04:57] ERROR BR: Read Failure: 16384 to read 0 Actual Read Code: 18446744071562145798
[04/23 12:04:57] ERROR BR: Read Failure - Would Block
[04/23 12:04:57] ERROR NEWS SERVER ERROR: Astraweb NNTPServer: Bad Compressed Header Format

I got this lines when I opened a group and a header update occured.
After that error, I retried the header update and no error lines were shown in the log.
(There were no new headers both times.)
Last edited by Calahan on Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Calahan
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 11:14 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 01/14/12

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:29 am

The read failure just means the connection dropped out. The compress headers error was removed for RC8. So, you must be seeing it in RC7.

I'll look at "RAWSUBJECT". You only get a raw subject if it can actually find it in the subject field after cleanup.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Kraut2003 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:40 am

Same here $(RAWSUBJECT) seems to be broken - not working on RC8
(Win 10 PRO 64 bit German, 16 GB RAM Core I7 CPU - DL Folder is NAS (Synology) / Data Folder is Local
Kraut2003
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 5:34 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 06/16/03

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby abandonedbrain » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:46 pm

[quote="Quade"]The read failure just means the connection dropped out. The compress headers error was removed for RC8. So, you must be seeing it in RC7.

I can confirm, I see this in RC7. Having a lot of weird issues with RC7. I'm coming from the last stable release, so I don't know when they might have started if I'd installed each RC. UsenetSearch in the program is failing quite frequently with odd errors:

ERROR BR: Read Failure: 16384 to read 0 Actual Read Code: 18446744071562145798
ERROR BR: Read Failure - Would Block
ERROR WebClient: Error reading HTTP status line

(the last, followed by a pop-up window from the program regarding UsenetSearch Error, but I didn't get a chance to screenshot that)

Haven't been having any problems with the stable release prior to updating last week to RC7. I use Astraweb and UsenetBucket, and I always connect via NordVPN. Running in CrossOver for Mac in a Win 8 bottle (which has worked extremely well for years, thanks for that!), if it matters.
abandonedbrain
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:25 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 02/26/14

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby mister_loaf » Tue May 01, 2018 8:01 pm

RC-8 still has the "pause" bug.

Pause the program and a few seconds later it un-pauses itself.

Please fix This is extremely annoying.

Thank You.
mister_loaf
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/30/17

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Tue May 01, 2018 11:39 pm

Pause the program and a few seconds later it un-pauses itself.


I can't repro your results with RC8.

If you look down at the status bar, where is says "...Ready | Running | Full Speed | XXXXX|" what does it XXXX say? It should say "Disabled". If not, click it till it says "disabled". Then try pausing again. In the network options make sure "Use Pause Timeout" is unchecked.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby mister_loaf » Wed May 02, 2018 1:19 am

Quade wrote:
Pause the program and a few seconds later it un-pauses itself.


I can't repro your results with RC8.

If you look down at the status bar, where is says "...Ready | Running | Full Speed | XXXXX|" what does it XXXX say? It should say "Disabled". If not, click it till it says "disabled". Then try pausing again. In the network options make sure "Use Pause Timeout" is unchecked.

Yes, "Use Pause Timeout" is unchecked

OK. Clicked on the thing that said "Enabled" and changed it to "Disabled". That seemed to fix the problem.

But that's for the Scheduler. Why would enabling the Scheduler cause the program to automatically un-pause itself every time I pause it? Seems like a bug that needs to be fixed. Just for fun, here's a screen cap of the bug in action

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ef1wCvOtas0

Also, there's a slight design flaw in the layout of the program. I have a large monitor. I don't run Newsbin full screen. I just have it large enough so I can see the things I need to see -- article name, date, current download status. The buttons at the bottom of the screen don't scale according to window size, so at my size, not all the things at the bottom are visible.

For example, the Scheduler button you wanted me to click on to change Enabled to Disabled, I couldn't figure out what you were talking about. There was nothing there. Turns out I had that one hidden (right click on status bar, uncheck the box) because I never use the scheduler. BUT, even after I checked the box to make it visible I still didn't see it until I expanded the Newsbin window out quite a bit larger than I normally run.

Oh well, working fine now.
mister_loaf
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:03 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 08/30/17

Re: Version 6.80 Release Candidate 8 Available...

Postby Quade » Wed May 02, 2018 7:34 am

But that's for the Scheduler. Why would enabling the Scheduler cause the program to automatically un-pause itself every time I pause it?


The scheduler overrides the pause button. It's always overridden the pause button. You could certainly argue that the pause button should override the scheduler but currently it doesn't.

The status bar areas are just a convenience. All of that functionality is accessible through the tool bar or the options. The only real way to fix the scaling is probably to replace the existing GUI. I'm working towards that but 6.80 will still have the old GUI for now.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43147
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests