Setting to change location of Spool_V6 folder

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Setting to change location of Spool_V6 folder

Postby Moondawgie » Sun Jun 14, 2020 8:59 pm

Is there by any chance a hidden/secret setting in Newsbin Pro Versino 6.82 which allow the use of the Spool_vg folder on a different drive separate from the other folders in the Newsbin Data folder?

I'm wondering if using different drives, or better yet different drives with different controllers, might serve to speed up the process of downloading new header information and then adding that information into the Newsbin Pro database.
MS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Insider Preview - ASUS P8Z77-V LE; Intel i7-3770K 3.5 GHz; 16.0GB DDR3; 200 Mbps cable internet.
User avatar
Moondawgie
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 5:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/17/03

Re: Setting to change location of Spool_V6 folder

Postby Quade » Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:17 am

You can move the whole data folder to a different drive and/or you could move just spool_v6 then create a symbolic link in the data folder that points to this spool_v6 on a different drive.

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/16226/c ... -or-linux/
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43806
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Setting to change location of Spool_V6 folder

Postby Moondawgie » Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:42 pm

Good idea.

Thanks.
MS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Insider Preview - ASUS P8Z77-V LE; Intel i7-3770K 3.5 GHz; 16.0GB DDR3; 200 Mbps cable internet.
User avatar
Moondawgie
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 5:17 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/17/03


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron