Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

General NewsBin and Usenet related discussions. Make recommendations for additional specific discussion groups.

Moderators: Quade, dexter

Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby Quade » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:16 am

Several users have contacted me complaining about connection problems to Astraweb using SSL. We've been able to solve this in many cases by suggesting they use port 443 in the server options.

1 - In the server options, set the SSL port to 443
2 - Restart Newsbin.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42171
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby nikkil » Tue May 01, 2012 5:28 pm

I think browsing through https would be affected here since it uses 443 too.
You're never a loser until you quit trying. Image
nikkil
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:39 pm

Re: Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby kenr » Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:31 am

I had this problem all week, no connection on the default port and I had to switch to my alternale provider for headers (MUCH slower as no compression), just changed to 443 and conencts fine. Thanks.
User avatar
kenr
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:14 am
Location: Galashiels

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/13/03

Re: Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby Parafinn » Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:20 am

TY - had the same problem, now resolved :D
User avatar
Parafinn
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 5:09 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/07/04

Re: Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby Parafinn » Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:51 am

I'm just waiting for the Quade'anator to kick in here :D
User avatar
Parafinn
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 5:09 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/07/04

Re: Try Port 443 to Astraweb when using SSL

Postby Quade » Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:37 am

Well, I do have to sleep sometime...

Ha
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42171
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests