Getting timeouts on all my groups

General NewsBin and Usenet related discussions. Make recommendations for additional specific discussion groups.

Moderators: Quade, dexter

Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Aminal » Sun Oct 02, 2016 12:51 am

as soon as I updated to the newest Newsbin all my info groups settings disappeared. Mostly I can fix that but I cannot get into any of my groups. I keep getting timeouts on every group I try. ( maybe I'll be able to read this reply when it is sent I hope so. Main board is screwy and most of the time the words and letters are illegible unless enlarged a lot. any ideas on what I have to do to be able to get into my groups?

from log: Server:news.newshosting.com NNTPServer: Compressed Headers - Timeout Waiting for Server to send Data:
May the Good Lord keep you always in His loving arms :)
Aminal
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:01 am
Location: Catskill, NY U.S.A.

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/08/03

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Quade » Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:11 am

In the really advanced server options, you might disable XFeatures then restart Newsbin and try again. If that fixes it, it means you security software is messing with the connections to the news server. You can either leave XFeatures disabled or make you security software ignore Newsbin's connections to the server.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Aminal » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:52 am

Sorry just got my system back. I still cannot get headers to download and that x is not active in fact all of them are not clicked. the last time I was able to download headers was before the upgrade lots I've had to redo but I cannot get any headers to at all now???
May the Good Lord keep you always in His loving arms :)
Aminal
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:01 am
Location: Catskill, NY U.S.A.

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/08/03

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby dexter » Sun Nov 06, 2016 9:53 am

Could be that your security software decided to start blocking Newsbin. To confirm, you can temporarily disable your security software, reboot your computer, then try Newsbin again. If it starts working, you know you need to look into configuring your security software to ignore Newsbin.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9192
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Aminal » Sat Nov 12, 2016 3:43 pm

guess you are right, I turned off kaspersky ad I got my headers. now to figure out how to download my headers without totally turning off Kaspersky. too many viruses in newsgroups to use it without virus protection
May the Good Lord keep you always in His loving arms :)
Aminal
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:01 am
Location: Catskill, NY U.S.A.

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/08/03

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby dexter » Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:54 pm

Thanks for confirming.

Kaspersky can be configured to allow Newsbin access to the Internet. This might be the instructions you need: http://support.kaspersky.com/12092#block1 Instead of "Deny" set it to "Allow" for Newsbin.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9192
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Aminal » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:38 pm

Still cannot download my headers but my firewall is set to allow
May the Good Lord keep you always in His loving arms :)
Aminal
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:01 am
Location: Catskill, NY U.S.A.

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/08/03

Re: Getting timeouts on all my groups

Postby Quade » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:51 pm

guess you are right, I turned off kaspersky ad I got my headers.


Seems like this was a solved problem?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 41941
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest