No headers are displayed after the upgrade

General NewsBin and Usenet related discussions. Make recommendations for additional specific discussion groups.

Moderators: Quade, dexter

No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby attila01 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:09 pm

Hello friends

i'm new to this forum but registered Newsbin user since 2005 Image link not allowed for unregistered users
This is the first time to have trouble with newsbin.

After upgrade to v6.72 no headers are displayed after downloading new headers in some groups.
Especially the groups with a high number of heaeders (> 10.000.000) were affected.
While downloading headers newsbin occupied more and more memory up to 1.9 Gb.

After many attempts I have completely reinstalled the program.
But the problem resists:
No headers are displayed after downloading headers.

Hope you can help

Best regards
Attila

ps
sorry for my bad english
attila01
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby Quade » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:08 pm

I suspect you've fallen victim to the current attack on the groups with random spam. It causes header import speeds to be terribly slow.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=41268&hilit=filter

It's discussed here. You'll need to use the subject reject filter. The poster filter no longer works.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42161
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby attila01 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:52 pm

Thanks for your quick answer.
It does not resolve my problem.
I try to describe the problem differently.
I double click on the group name (in this case "a.b.multimedia.rail")
to download the latest header.
The headers are loaded (eg, 675,632). Newsbin shows the progress.
Links not allowed for unregistered users
After the completion of the process I expect the display of the headers
in the window of the group. But nothing is displayed.
I have not activated a filter.

I checked the group with nzbindex.nl.
There are some files that were displayed with the older version of newsbin.
I know, some files are scrap, but that does not matter for this case.
I create with nzbindex.nl a nzb file "NZBIndex-download.nzb" open it with newsbin.
Links not allowed for unregistered users
Newsbin shows the headers.
Links not allowed for unregistered users

Why does newsbin show no data at all? Image link not allowed for unregistered users

Helpless greetings
Attila
attila01
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby dexter » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:00 pm

Could be that Newsbin is still processing headers in the background. They won't be available to view until processing is complete. You can monitor the progress by looking at the Cache display at the bottom of the Newsbin window. It looks something like "Cache 200/200 (0)" when idle. If there are numbers in the parenthesis it means there is a backlog of header data being processed into the database. Wait for that number to go to 0 then you should be able to load headers for the group.

Also, check your header storage age and make sure it is set large enough to keep the number of days you want. If you set it to 0 then basically all the headers get purged from disk as soon as they are stored. The setting is under Option -> Settings.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9226
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby attila01 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:39 pm

Hey folks,

i think there is an database issue:
i found this: [01:12:15] DEBUG DbWorker: Db Gz to Db Failed: <name_of_group>

What can i do?

best regards
Fleetworker
attila01
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:45 am

1 - run Newsbin,
2 - use "Open Data Folder" from the options
3 - In the "Import" Folder, select all the files and move them to a new folder.
4 - One file probably won't move.
5 - Exit Newsbin.
6 - Delete that one file.
7 - Move the other GZ files back into the folder.
8 - Restart Newsbin.

You might have to repeat this is you have multiple bad GZ files.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42161
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby Onlooker » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:19 pm

Hello Quade,

thanks for the answer.
It has helped a little.
With groups with few new heads (less than 10.000) it has worked. Not for groups with many (more than 100.000) heads.
I have written my news provider.
I wrote to him that the heads are at least two days old at groups with few headers and no heads at groups with many headers.
The answer:
der Server Provider kann sich nicht erklären, wieso ein solcher Zeitunterschied entsteht. Die geposteten Fils sind in der Regel wenige Minuten nach dem Posten auch auf dem Server gespeichert und die Header sind dann unmittelbar abrufbar. Er ist der Meinung, dass es am Newsreader liegt. Deinstallieren Sie doch bitte mal den Newsreader und nach einem Neustart installieren Sie den Newsreader komplett neu.
Sollte das Problem dann immer noch bestehen, dann melden Sie sich bitte erneut.

in english:
The server provider can not explain why such a time difference arises. The posted fils are usually also stored on the server a few minutes after the posting and the headers are then directly accessible. He thinks it's on the newsreader. Please uninstall the newsreader and restart the newsreader.
If the problem still exists, please log back in again.

I have already made a clean installation of Newsbin v6.72 before my first post.
After deinstalling Newsbin (and restarting) I deleted all data directories and deleted all registry entries, as far as I found them.
Then I reinstalled Newsbin v6.72.
I have not changed the default options.
Then I updated the group list and reloaded.
After reading the headers, the problem was still there.

Today I deleted the group for which "DbWorker: Db Gz to Db Failed" was displayed.
Delete the group in Newsbin.
Restart Newsbin, I have re-read the group list, add the grpoup, set download-age to two day, downloading headers.
I'm curious about what's happening now.

Greetings
Fleetworker
Onlooker
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/25/05

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby Quade » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:05 pm

I have written my news provider.
I wrote to him that the heads are at least two days old at groups with few headers and no heads at groups with many headers.


It's probably not your provider.

If I was you I'd wipe the Import folder and purge the group impacted (Post Storage/Delete Stored Posts). Then set the "Download Age" to 15. Then download headers normally.

Make sure your "Storage Age" is larger than the "Download Age".

If you continue to have problems, you probably need to tell your security software to both ignore Newsbin and to leave the Newsbin data folder alone.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42161
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby Onlooker » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:18 pm

Hello Quade,
I have solved the problem by a clean reinstallation with version 6.62.
The whole story:
Operating system: Win7 Ultimate, Member of Win-Domain (ActiveDirectory)
Logged in as a user without extended privileges
Running nb662-install.exe as Administrator.
During the installation I changed the newsbin data folder to "F:\newsbinData"
After the setup was finished, I started Newsbin as USER.
First I entered my newsserver, then I have set the options according to my requirements.
To my surprise, the change to the DATA folder has been ignored: C:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Local\Newsbin
ok, no problem :-) http://help.newsbin.com/index.php/V600- ... r_location
Time for a test.
Add my favorite ebook-Group. Double-click..
Headers are downloaded. Ready download and.. Everything is absolutely correct and as expected.

OK, Back to the problem and an explanation attempt
I want to upgrade from v6.62 to v6.72.
For that I have added the user account to the local Administrators group
(I wanted to bypass "as admin" to start the setup)
and started the upgrade (nb672REG.exe).
Newsbin worked with the described problems.
I wrote my first text in the forum..

Yesterday I uninstalled Newsbin after the actions you suggested were not successful.
I deleted all the data remains (e .g. Newsbin data folder)
Today I installed v.6.72:
Logged in as a user without extended privileges
Running nb672-full.exe as Administrator,
During the installation I changed the newsbin data folder to "F:\newsbinData"
After the setup was finished, I started Newsbin as USER.
Newsbin starts with a dialog box in which it is to be read that no newsserver is defined.
Well, I've installed as an administrator. So I have to first put the opions.
So I clicked OK, but to my surprise Newsbin was not started. (The version 6.62 starts!)
Instead, the Windows crash message appeared.
Uuups, what is wrong?
So all over again: I uninstalled Newsbin v6.72..... See 11 lines further up :-)
Result: the same problem. Newsbin does not want to start.
De-Installing v6.72, installing v6.62
Version 6.62 runs perfectly.

best regards
Fleetworker
Onlooker
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:59 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/25/05

Re: No headers are displayed after the upgrade

Postby dexter » Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:37 pm

Your problems are due to running the installer as Administrator. You need to run the installer as your regular user account and allow it to request administrator rights (which is only really needed in order to write executable files to the program files folder). This is why you lost your data folder location, because it stored it to the administrator account which is not accessible from your user account. It is also the reason the upgrade isn't working.

I suggest uninstalling everything (might have to do this from the administrator account since that's the only one that really knows where everything is) then run the installer from your standard user account.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9226
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron