Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:36 am

I was using Newsbin version 5.59, no problem.

Upgraded to 6.0b7

Converted the headers like said in the Upgrade Note.

No problem to download new headers.

But when I click on any header (old one or new one), nothing happens.
Nothing goes to the Downloads list.

Log says : Resolver: Unable to find Download data

:(
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:12 am

When I right click on a header and select Post Properties, I have the details for Subject, From and Size. It says Missing : 1. There is no group or message ID listed.
When I click on the horizontal arrow in front of the header to expand it (tree view for headers), I get nothing.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby DThor » Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:06 am

Sounds like the spool convert didn't take. Try a smaller group, redownload headers and verify that works, by way of a diagnostic.

You gave it lots of time to process? Try just updating one group and make sure disk activity is done, then try again.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:21 am

That can't be the problem, I think.

After upgrading to V6, I subscribed to a new group. I get the same results. It downloads headers, but for each of them it says in the log : Unable to Insert Data record.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:35 am

Yeah, that's the problem.

If you wipe the group and this continues when you re-download, it's probably something weird like your virus scanner.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:17 am

HI,
have the same problem with version 6.07
i just try to stop my antivirus but the problem is still here
thank a lot for your help
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:57 pm

I disabled my antivirus.

No change.

When I try to import Version 5.XX headers, the log says Unable to Update Data record.

When I subscribe to a new group and I download headers, I get Unable to Insert Data record.

64 Bit version, Windows 7.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby richy99 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:21 pm

what antivirus? some of them are still running even tho they have been disabled
User avatar
richy99
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:04 pm
Location: Wales

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/31/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:29 pm

I use VIPRE.
Windows tells me that my antivirus has been deactivated.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:59 pm

Something is preventing Newsbin from writing that file, something that doesn't prevent 99% of the other people who are using version 6 from doing exactly the same thing. It seems logical to assume it's something in your PC preventing the write. Disabled or no, something is getting in the way. I can't tell you what it is, I can just suggest it's your virus scanner.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:14 pm

Antivirus uninstalled.

No change.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:17 pm

Don't know then. Wipe spool_v6 and try again. Hopefully, you rebooted after removing it?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:28 pm

I have rebooted after uninstalling the antivirus, yes.

I have wiped spool_v6. I subscribed to a new group. Tried to download headers.

No change.

Could there be a conflict between this new version and the Giganews Accelerator ?
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby DThor » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:38 pm

Shouldn't matter. You can always disable it and see.

DT
V6 Troubleshooting FAQ . V6 docs. Usenet info at Usenet Tools. Thanks!
User avatar
DThor
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 5943
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:50 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/01/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:51 pm

Shouldnt be using the accelerator anyway. It's built into Newsbin now.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby richy99 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:03 pm

what do you have set for storage age and how old are the posts you are trying?
User avatar
richy99
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:04 pm
Location: Wales

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/31/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:17 pm

richy99 wrote:what do you have set for storage age and how old are the posts you are trying?


1000
The most recent ones.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:25 pm

DThor wrote:Shouldn't matter. You can always disable it and see.

DT


Giganews Accelerator disabled.

No change.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:27 pm

You have another PC to try it on?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:40 pm

I uninstalled Newsbin and tried to perform a clean install of V6.

It won't install. It asks if Newsbin is running (no), and then it says if Newsbin is not running, something is preventing us from installing to the selected folder.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:42 pm

Version 5 won't install either now.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby richy99 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:46 pm

sounds like a scrwed up windows
User avatar
richy99
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:04 pm
Location: Wales

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/31/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:16 pm

richy99 wrote:sounds like a scrwed up windows


I performed a system restore, and now I can use V5 again.
But obviously a problem at my end, yes.
I'll see what I can do. Thanks all.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:45 pm

One last thing.

I tried again to upgrade to V6, and the same thing is happening.
During the install, I get a message saying : Error downloading languge file from our server. Falling back to English language install. Error : HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found.
My OS and V5 installation is in french.

"Upgrading" (downgrading) to V5 is working.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby richy99 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:11 pm

yeah not sure the translations are in place yet
User avatar
richy99
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:04 pm
Location: Wales

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/31/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:37 am

Just installed NewsBin Pro V6 on my old computer. Windows XP. French OS.

I get the same problems. Unable to Insert Data record.
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:47 am

Could it be because it's a french PC? I mean french language. I've never heard of this before.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:55 am

How about PMing me the group. Have you tried other groups too? Wondering if it's related to a specific french oriented group.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:23 pm

Quade wrote:How about PMing me the group. Have you tried other groups too? Wondering if it's related to a specific french oriented group.


You mean the newsgroups ? I tried basic newsgroups, not french oriented at all.

Could it be that Newsbin won't write the files if the name in C/Users has an accent in it ? Like C/users/Réal for instance ?
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:37 pm

I think that's a good theory though it SHOULD be able to write the files. It suggests the filenames aren't getting to converted to UTF8 in newsbin.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:02 am

As i tell you on the other topic about our problem and for the username, the accent ( for me é at he end of André) is not the problem
as on my portable i use the same username and NB6b7 works well
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:03 am

dede52 wrote:As i tell you on the other topic about our problem and for the username, the accent ( for me é at he end of André) is not the problem
as on my portable i use the same username and NB6b7 works well


Interesting.
French OS on the portable too or not ?
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:06 am

bad news.....
i don't understand why on my portable NB6b7 works with the username André because i just try on my desktop the following :
create a new account ( Andy )
load NB6b7
install the program
[b]WORK WELL.[/b] :D
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:08 am

sorry don't see your question
yes all my pc work with swiss french version of XP
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:39 am

i just check my portable because i don't like when i don't understand something.....
my username is André but the folder is C:\Documents and Settings\Andre
and that confirm the test on my desktop
Question for Quade : can i copy the folder newsbin in Local Setting from André to Andy as i don't want to reload all my setting ?
Last edited by dede52 on Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby maupassant » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:42 am

Merci André.
:)

Mr. Quade, I trust that this problem with V6 will be fixed before it goes out of beta, right ?
maupassant
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:15 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/04/10

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby itimpi » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:08 am

dede52 wrote:i just check my portable because i don't like when i don't understand something.....
my username is André but the folder is C:\Documents and Settings\Andre
and that confirm the test on my desktop

At least that gives Quade something concrete to look for. It was looking a bit more troubling when you thought that the path on the notebook also included the accented character.
Question for Quade : can i copy the folder newsbin in Local Setting from André to Andy as i don't want to reload all my setting ?

Yes, you can copy the Newsbin folder to a new location.

You will, however, need to edit the Newsbin configuration file (.nbi) using a text editor to change the paths in there to reflect the move. Having done that Newsbin will find the new location for its data folder.
The Newsbin Online documentation
The Usenettools for tutorials, useful information and links
User avatar
itimpi
Elite NewsBin User
Elite NewsBin User
 
Posts: 12591
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 7:11 am
Location: UK

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/28/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby dede52 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:13 am

thank a lot for your answer and hope Mr. Quade can do something to resolv this problem on the NB6 final
User avatar
dede52
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/04/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Zyeox » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:34 pm

I think I found out what is causing it. I had this exact same problem twice now. Once I installed it worked perfectly fine no problems. The other day I started a download and bam got the error. Couldn't figure it out. After messing with it I shut everything down that was running only thing running besides it was utorrent. It was downloading a file stopped it shut it down and tried it. IT worked no probs. Happened to me today same thing realized I had utorrent running turned it off and bam it downloaded the same file that I couldn't 2 secs earlier. Maybe it's something with the two programs or maybe it has something where utorrent is blocking some port or somethign to access the internet. Not sure. But it is working for me. Tested it 5 times and each time with utorrent downloading something it wouldn't download through newsbin 6.
User avatar
Zyeox
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:20 pm
Location: Toledo, Ohio

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/01/03

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby Quade » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:44 pm

This particular problem is because these guys are french so, they have accented characters in their data paths. The way I was using the database, didn't like the accented characters. I fixed it already.

You problem is very different and very odd. You might want "Procmon" and watch Newsbin with utorrent running and see if you see any file system errors.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 43637
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Resolver: Unable to find Download data

Postby KilJaden » Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:45 pm

Zyeox wrote:I think I found out what is causing it. I had this exact same problem twice now. Once I installed it worked perfectly fine no problems. The other day I started a download and bam got the error. Couldn't figure it out. After messing with it I shut everything down that was running only thing running besides it was utorrent. It was downloading a file stopped it shut it down and tried it. IT worked no probs. Happened to me today same thing realized I had utorrent running turned it off and bam it downloaded the same file that I couldn't 2 secs earlier. Maybe it's something with the two programs or maybe it has something where utorrent is blocking some port or somethign to access the internet. Not sure. But it is working for me. Tested it 5 times and each time with utorrent downloading something it wouldn't download through newsbin 6.


From what i can tell this might be a router problem, namely some routers will freeze/begin dropping connections after a certain number of simultaneous connexion was reached : can be anywhere from 64-200 connections . This all depends on router type and firmware .You could try updating the router firmware at first and then you can limit the maximum simultaneous connections in utorrent to 50 at first and slowly increase the number until you see the same behavior.
Also might be work checking out new drivers for network card , because a network-card under load could also crash due to bad drivers/firmware .
User avatar
KilJaden
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:28 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 06/17/09


Return to V6 Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests