Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

This is the place to help test and discuss Version 6 Beta releases.

Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby dexter » Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:59 pm

Beta 6 has some bug fixes and a pretty big improvement: long filename support. Also, addresses issues some AMD people were reporting. We have one confirmation that it's now working fine on AMD machines.

List of changes:
  • Fixed hang on exit issue.
  • Fixed issue when data drive runs out of space, pop up warning was not coming up.
  • Major changes to support long filenames (>260 characters).
  • Added more logging to try to help troubleshoot reports of watchlists failing
  • Now supports file sets that include password in the subject
  • Fixed issue where a decode was attempted after it had already completed, giving misleading error message.
  • Rebuilt DLL to use no special Intel instructions. Should work on AMD's again.
  • Fixed issue where random filenames in the yEnc headers wouldn't match the filename Newsbin was using from the subject impacting resume function.
  • Fix for issue with "Placeholder" displaying in the download path listed in the wish list.

The download link is on the Newsbin Beta Page. If you find any issues, please reply to this thread or use our Technical Support Contact Form.
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9226
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:07 am

dexter wrote:Beta 6 has some bug fixes and a pretty big improvement: long filename support. Also, addresses issues some AMD people were reporting. We have one confirmation that it's now working fine on AMD machines.

List of changes:
  • Fixed hang on exit issue.
  • Fixed issue when data drive runs out of space, pop up warning was not coming up.
  • Major changes to support long filenames (>260 characters).
  • Added more logging to try to help troubleshoot reports of watchlists failing
  • Now supports file sets that include password in the subject
  • Fixed issue where a decode was attempted after it had already completed, giving misleading error message.
  • Rebuilt DLL to use no special Intel instructions. Should work on AMD's again.
  • Fixed issue where random filenames in the yEnc headers wouldn't match the filename Newsbin was using from the subject impacting resume function.
  • Fix for issue with "Placeholder" displaying in the download path listed in the wish list.

The download link is on the Newsbin Beta Page. If you find any issues, please reply to this thread or use our Technical Support Contact Form.


Should duplicate detector be on or off for the new features that hopefully fix for the files that weren't resuming or it doesn't matter either way?

I've started downloading a large file that won't be finished by tonight when I turn my notebook off. I'll let you know if it's a success when I start up again tomorrow.
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:01 am

Should duplicate detector be on or off for the new features that hopefully fix for the files that weren't resuming or it doesn't matter either way?


You should be able to leave the dup detector on.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:16 pm

It worked. Thanks for figuring it out.
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby JanJonkman » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:30 am

Beta 6 doesn't unpack directory's included in archives

Kind regards,

Jan
JanJonkman
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:35 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 12/10/10

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:54 pm

Thanks, I'll check it out. Probably related to long path support.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Streetwolf » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:36 pm

I keep getting a low disk space window which I can't get rid of. I have to use Task Manager to kill Newsbin. I definitely have enough space on my drives. I even tried a few drives.

Image
3770K 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V DLX|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD 17.7.1|FIOS 1Gb
User avatar
Streetwolf
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:06 am
Location: Subnet 255.255.255.0

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/27/03

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:05 pm

When you start it, before you see this, what sizes does it show in the status bar at the bottom?

I wonder if it's some weird permissions problem? What OS is this?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Streetwolf » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:11 pm

Quade wrote:When you start it, before you see this, what sizes does it show in the status bar at the bottom?

I wonder if it's some weird permissions problem? What OS is this?


Running Windows 10 Pro CU 64 bit.

I just ran NBP and got the space message but this time it displayed for a few seconds and disappeared. The status bar shows 228.95 GB | 275.10 GB. Now when I open NBP I don't get the space message. I'll probably get it once I start downloading.
3770K 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V DLX|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD 17.7.1|FIOS 1Gb
User avatar
Streetwolf
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:06 am
Location: Subnet 255.255.255.0

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/27/03

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:49 am

I'm getting a weird thing with larger files where unrar goes over 100%. It still works but can't say I've seen that before.

Image
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:01 am

I just ran NBP and got the space message but this time it displayed for a few seconds and disappeared. The status bar shows 228.95 GB | 275.10 GB. Now when I open NBP I don't get the space message. I'll probably get it once I start downloading.


My free space is about the same as yours and I'm not getting the pop-up. It's kinda weird. I'm going to look at the code and see if anything pops up. Almost makes me wonder if there's some 32bit/64 bit size mix up.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Streetwolf » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:04 am

Quade wrote:
I just ran NBP and got the space message but this time it displayed for a few seconds and disappeared. The status bar shows 228.95 GB | 275.10 GB. Now when I open NBP I don't get the space message. I'll probably get it once I start downloading.


My free space is about the same as yours and I'm not getting the pop-up. It's kinda weird. I'm going to look at the code and see if anything pops up. Almost makes me wonder if there's some 32bit/64 bit size mix up.


I just ran NBP and downloaded some stuff. I did not receive the space message at any time. Even running NBP a second time failed to produce the message. I'll see what happens the next time I download. Maybe it's the quantity of my downloads.
3770K 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V DLX|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD 17.7.1|FIOS 1Gb
User avatar
Streetwolf
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:06 am
Location: Subnet 255.255.255.0

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/27/03

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby jackholexxxx » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:00 pm

Last time I had the free space popup I also had a lot of free space. My issue was caused by my eSATA connection being briefly disconnected. Even though I could read/write the drive fine, NB (or Windows) thought there was an issue. I rebooted the system and have had no further issues.
jackholexxxx
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:18 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 11/01/04

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Streetwolf » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:09 pm

Problem has gone away for me too. I also might have had my eSATA device connected then maybe I disconnected it. I don't remember.
3770K 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V DLX|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD 17.7.1|FIOS 1Gb
User avatar
Streetwolf
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:06 am
Location: Subnet 255.255.255.0

Registered Newsbin User since: 03/27/03

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:13 am

Is there any way to change back to the way V5 handled low disk space?

Now that I'm forced to use this version, at least initially, I see that the low disk warning still isn't fixed. The last versions of 6.7 I tried, it would complete fill my drive, corrupting the Newsbin databases and crashing my computer when I was forced to use the boot drive as the download drive. This morning I found Newsbin had run out of space and, although it did leave about 200 megs free, when I cleared more space it kept flashing the low disk space warning for over 5 minutes. It looks like it built up a buffer of these warnings after stopping/restarting for hours and had to flush that buffer by displaying every single one.
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:46 am

Add this to the NBI.

[FILE]
MinFreeSpace=2000


It'll start pausing when you get down to 2 gigs free space. If you really want it to act like the older versions, I'd set it to pause downloading during unrar/repair too.

People seem to think I'm joking when I say "don't run out of disk space" but is it really that hard to keep a disk free enough to allow download without running out? Maybe I need to make the default 1gig instead of 200 megs?
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:56 am

Thanks for the reply Quade. It's not the size of the remaining free space that I'm having a problem with now. Is there a setting to keep Newsbin from restarting, like in V5? I just want it to pause until I click the Low Disk Space notification box.
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:04 pm

You can clear it then hit the main pause button. It works the way it does now because some windows installs lie about free space.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Voyager62 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:58 pm

Quade wrote:You can clear it then hit the main pause button. It works the way it does now because some windows installs lie about free space.


That's what I ended up doing, but it took about 5 minutes to stop popping up the cached Low Disk Space notifications and even when I could press the manual pause in between popups, it would turn it back off.
Maybe add a switch could be added to stay paused on Low Disk Space. If I let it go all night, it'll download over 100 GB and I only have a 250 Mb connection.
Voyager62
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:57 am

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/29/04

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Axthor » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:35 pm

Hi

Sorting the Status column appears to be messed up a bit.

I am seeing "Poster Filtered" status items mixed in (usually as single items) with "Subject Reject" status items as an example.

Not a killer but I now need to scroll through the "Subject Reject" items to make sure I'm not going to delete something I may want.

I think it may have started with beta 5.

Great program - few complaints!

Gary (Axthor)
Axthor
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:43 pm
Location: Vancouver BC

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/20/03

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:33 am

Since I installed this Newsbin has sometimes not worked will with some files when used with Sonarr. It unrars the sample file but not the main file which can only then be unrared by Winrar because it has downloaded all the rar files.

Not sure why this this is happening. All previous versions I've used with Sonarr never did it and rarely if ever bothered with with the sample.

Cheers
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:38 am

Sorting the Status column appears to be messed up a bit.


I'll check it out to see if I see anything. Thanks.

Since I installed this Newsbin has sometimes not worked will with some files when used with Sonarr. It unrars the sample file but not the main file which can only then be unrared by Winrar because it has downloaded all the rar files.


A work around for now might be to create an NZB filter which filters out all "sample" from the contents of the NZB. You're sure this is build 4932? There was an older beta that had an issue like this since, fixed.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:53 am

Quade wrote:
A work around for now might be to create an NZB filter which filters out all "sample" from the contents of the NZB. You're sure this is build 4932? There was an older beta that had an issue like this since, fixed.


Yup it's 4932. Where do I find the NZB filter so I can add sample?

Cheers

Edit: I should also say the sample file and the main file are both contained in the one file when using this version on Newbin. Previously when it would download the NZB there would be two separate files and one would be the sample and the other would be the main. Perhaps why it never previously occurred?
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:36 am

Edit: I should also say the sample file and the main file are both contained in the one file when using this version on Newbin. Previously when it would download the NZB there would be two separate files and one would be the sample and the other would be the main. Perhaps why it never previously occurred?


This is the issue in a nutshell.

If you look in the options, under NZB options, you can assign a filter profile that applies during NZB loading. I'd make a new filter with "subject reject" "sample" then assign this filter in the NZB options.

I'm looking into adding a feature to temporarily store the Sonarr NZB's on disk so we can take a look at these files.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Sonarr problem

Postby cat_man » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:09 pm

Sonarr issues again. Win 10-64bit NB 6.80 b6. Sonarr test communicates ok with NB. Manually add a download through Sonarr, it sends request to NB, NB downloads and unrars to correct directories. No downloading status appears in Sonarr and nothing happens after download. NB has this error in log files: ERROR SB - Failed to feed New NZB In Download listSome_file_name.nzb
User avatar
cat_man
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Texas

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/08/05

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby Quade » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:00 pm

NB has this error in log files: ERROR SB - Failed to feed New NZB In Download listSome_file_name.nzb


Someone on IRC reported this. What he noticed is that Sonarr was trying to feed the same NZB Twice. Once from the search and once from the RSS feed. Newsbin rejects the second one if the first one is already in the list. The second feed generated this error. In his case, the files were still getting picked up and processed.

In his case Sonarr seems to pick the files up. Might be worth using "Open Data Folder" in the options, exit Newsbin and then delete "downloadsv2.db3" this will wipe the download, wish and failed lists.

Keep in mind that Sonarr is very lazy about polling for progress. They might only poll once ever couple minutes.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 42158
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby cat_man » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:28 pm

Deleted "downloadsv2.db3, pushed another nzb through Sonarr to newsbin. Same scenario, NB picks up nzb, downloads, unrars to different directory with nzbfilename and gives same error message. Since I am manually initiating the nzb there is no duplicate from an RSS scan. Turn on Sabnzbd (turn off NB) and everything works to completion on Sonarr with the same nzb. I understand Sonarr is slow to poll. With NB I get now sign of polling, with Sabnzbd, I get at least one poll. Granted the test file is small at 150mb so not much time.

Update: I can't get it to work on two separate computers. Tried going back to 6.70 and that doesn't work either. Did Sonarr change the comm protocol or am I doing something completely wrong?
User avatar
cat_man
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Texas

Registered Newsbin User since: 04/08/05

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:24 pm

Quade wrote:
Edit: I should also say the sample file and the main file are both contained in the one file when using this version on Newbin. Previously when it would download the NZB there would be two separate files and one would be the sample and the other would be the main. Perhaps why it never previously occurred?


This is the issue in a nutshell.

If you look in the options, under NZB options, you can assign a filter profile that applies during NZB loading. I'd make a new filter with "subject reject" "sample" then assign this filter in the NZB options.

I'm looking into adding a feature to temporarily store the Sonarr NZB's on disk so we can take a look at these files.


I can't see where in NZB options where you would add this filter

Image
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby dexter » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:41 pm

It's the NZB Loading Filter. If you click that dropdown that currently says "None" you'll see a list of Filter Profiles that are available. You choose one of those. Quade was suggesting that you create a new filter profile (do this under Options -> Filters) with a "Reject if" "Subject Contains" "Sample".
User avatar
dexter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9226
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 3:50 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Version 6.80 Beta 6 Available...

Postby depredador » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:48 pm

dexter wrote:It's the NZB Loading Filter. If you click that dropdown that currently says "None" you'll see a list of Filter Profiles that are available. You choose one of those. Quade was suggesting that you create a new filter profile (do this under Options -> Filters) with a "Reject if" "Subject Contains" "Sample".

Ah OK
depredador
Active Participant
Active Participant
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 09/25/08


Return to Newsbin Version 6 Beta Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest