Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Make suggestions for new features.

Moderator: Quade

Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby nbwul62 » Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:51 am

Suggestion: add a "Stop" button in the '' Test Download Files" when download fails.
Actually, it would be nice to also add 'Remove' then.

So, something like: Stop and Remove when failing

Usually, I select 1 file out of a set, then test the download. If it fails, the entire .nzb set will fail and I do not continue.

If the file that is being tested is a large one, I need to wait until it finished (windows panel with scrolling failures)
then select all (ctrl-a), right click 'clear window', then in the upper window panel, r-click the file followed by shift-delete.

It would be nice if this all would be available in within 1 button, or at least there would be an option within settings that takes care of this all.

Hence there are in fact two suggestions:
1. when failing : button - 'Stop and remove' (clear window/delete test download articles)
and/or
2. when failing: button 'Stop and remove entire post' (does the above but also the entire post)

Thanks,
nbwul62
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 2:44 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/03

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby Quade » Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:06 am

You know, 6.90 will abort the download when it's 10% failed. Meaning you might just want to try the download and let it fail out.

I'll note your feature requests but 6.90 is basically done. It'll have to wait til the next beta.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44578
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby nbwul62 » Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:16 am

Thanks a lot. Looking forward to 6.90

I am still on 6.81.
Although I cleared the bottom panel and deleted the post (at the top)
Exited and relaunched NB, it will continue with the 'test' file.

Image

BTW How is the install of 6.90 ? Simply run the installer and NB will 'import/use' the existing settings?
Current NB being installed in: D:\Newsbin.

Thanks again.

(I was logged out again, but I was lucky to have saved the text of my post)
nbwul62
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 2:44 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/03

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby Quade » Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:33 am

You should just be able to install over top of the existing install.

I don't trouble-shoot old versions as I don't have them anymore. Just deleting from the download list should stop the "test". If you find it doesn't in 6.90 let me know.

Only the download list matters to downloads so, there's no reason to close tabs or anything to stop download list processing.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44578
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby nbwul62 » Thu Jan 20, 2022 11:49 am

Thanks. Done. Installed v6.90RC6 B5504. Double clicked a nzb file.
It was loaded into NB.

Whereas I am used it is displayed in the "Groups List" panel (top) it now showed up at the bottom.

Okay, seems that's new then, so I intended to figure out whether this was a change indeed.
A couple of seconds later the list was gone.

I checked out my HDD and the file was downloaded indeed.

As said usually it shops up in the groups list, I expand the file, to see all the parts, then select on, r-click test so to see whether it is available.

Seems this changed?
nbwul62
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 2:44 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/03

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby Quade » Thu Jan 20, 2022 12:05 pm

You can still "Load"NZB's" from the files menu or toolbar into the post list but double-click sends directly to the download list.

The reason is new obscured NZB's don't download particularly well if they get send to the post/group list first.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44578
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby nbwul62 » Fri Jan 21, 2022 6:40 am

Thank you.

Yesterday I tried two-three .nzb files (double clicking, sending them to download list)
Up front, I knew.. that nothing would be downloaded, files were not on the server.
Just wanted to see what happened.

1st file: almost immediately I got this pop-up of files not found.
r-click, delete from list
2nd file loaded: nothing happened, no downloads, no popup
r-click, delete from list
3rd file, same as 2nd file
r-click, delete from list
Newsbin File > Exit

Relaunch, 2nd file double click almost immediately I got this 'Error downloader' panel.

Assume that the error shows up at the first nzb with no files on server
no warnings in case of any further files are being loaded, even after waiting for 1,5 min.

Status of all files was 'downloading', however, nothing happened.
That was yesterday, today I tried again, same thing.

Just a tip.
nbwul62
Seasoned User
Seasoned User
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 2:44 pm

Registered Newsbin User since: 05/18/03

Re: Add a [Stop] button when testing a down

Postby Quade » Fri Jan 21, 2022 12:44 pm

Without specific errors I don't know what you mean. You can disable the error popup in the advanced options. It's mainly for people who don't know the logging tab exists.

Seeing something like "430" errors just means the server is saying it doesn't have parts of the files. After Newsbin attempts 10% of the file, they'll fail to the failed list.
User avatar
Quade
Eternal n00b
Eternal n00b
 
Posts: 44578
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 12:41 am
Location: Virginia, US

Registered Newsbin User since: 10/24/97


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest